Final Reflection

Miriam Hackenberger
Inside the News Media
1 min readFeb 3, 2017

Looking back at this semester and at many other semester I have to say that this was one of the best courses of my studies! I really liked talking about the media, as this topic is soo controversial and interesting! I think absolutely no one shares the exact same opinion on this hot topic. It was very helpful to learn about the life and daily struggle of journalists.

I learned that articles about a company or organisation often simply recite press statements written by a spokesperson of the company or organization. I had never thought or heard of this before and I think that this is a very important information.

Of course, the funny videos marked a highlight every week and helped everyone start the day with a smile. The best videos were by Russel Howards! I kept laughing about his description of the Brexit morning for days! „Excuse me, my TV is showing me pictures of a distant galaxy I don’t want to see“ hahahah. (Thank you for the good laugh, I really love this sort of biting humour and I will definitely continue watching his show.)

Finally, I think the work load was reasonable for an „active Teilnahme“. It was a good exercise and fun to post on medium and to read the other posts and, considering the course subject „media“, a very fitting course requirement.

Last but not least I really liked the „good bye handout“!

(My only critique: 8 am is too early!!!)

--

--