Georgia on my mind

Manu Le
Inside the News Media
2 min readMay 11, 2016

--

Photo Credit: http://www.betssongroup.com/locations-tbilisi

As I was searching for news articles for my first blog entry, I’ve read a lot of EU-news and articles about Great Britain discussing their “Brexit”. There are obviously a number of countries which aren’t happy with their EU-membership, just like Greece for example.

But still some countries, like Ukraine or Georgia, are strongly trying to get closer to the western countries and become a member of the European Union. I can speak for Georgia, since I was born in the capital city Tbilisi (and therefore I’m a georgian girl). I think it would be a great opportunity for Georgia if Europe could pay more attention to them. They are really trying to achieve european standards; for the first time in history there is something like a “recycling project”. Waste seperation is a quiet normal and ordinary thing for us in Germany, but in Georgia, it is a little revolution.

Georgia really needs some support, especially with the health and welfare system. I’m not saying that they are not trying; au contraire: I’m really proud, that after all this centuries, we have a democratic parliament and they are trying to bury old systems and establish a new modern regime. There are a lot of things that have changed, my lovely grand-mother has finally fluent water supply (she’s living in a village), there is constant electricity, new streets were built (we have a few Autobahnen now *yeah*), the railway systems are restored and the tourism is growing.

Sometimes I’m thinking of how spoiled I am by living in Germany. But I’m really thankful for growing up here. Maybe with the new EU-Visa liberalization, more georgian people can visit Europe and take some inspiration with them to improve our beautiful country and mix our old traditions (which I looove!) and modern western values.

--

--