Has The Walking Dead become a Nuisance?

Connie W
Inside the News Media
2 min readNov 30, 2016

A few weeks ago the long-awaited seventh season of The Walking Dead started and now I stumbled upon this article online. I binge-watched the first four seasons of the show about two years ago and the fifth and sixth season as soon as they were available to watch. And as much as I like(d) this show and most of its characters, I have to agree with this article. The show is, in fact, often pretty dull and it basically only lives off its countless cliffhangers, which eventually lead to a huge season finale… which then ends in a cliffhanger. Again. (Surprise surprise). And once you’ve reached that season finale you just cannot stop watching because you have to know how it goes on.

Every time I stop watching it (e.g. because the next season hasn’t started yet), I’m starting to wonder why I’m even watching this show. Yes, some of its characters are lovely and most of them went through great character development, which I love. But what bothers me is the actual story itself: It doesn’t lead anywhere. Except, maybe to the next bad guy who probably will be killed but before that he will kill some people of Rick’s group. This is basically the premise of every season so far. There is no known cure to the Zombie-disease and even if there was one, the Eugene storyline clearly showed that the group doesn’t really care about a potential cure.

Over the course of time more and more characters have been added to the show and each of them has their own problem, dark secret, etc. The character development, which was once the appeal of the show for me because it showed how everyone (the few people that were part of the group) slowly adapted to their new life circumstances and how they changed because of that, is now not as apparent anymore as it was before. There are just so many characters now and it is impossible to do justice to each of them. And that might be the problem why The Walking Dead has gotten so dull in the first place. Because it is getting more and more complicated (i.e. impossible) to fit all the important information in a single episode.

I really hope the showrunners will figure something out to make the show more interesting again, because otherwise I will also stop watching it and wasting my time There are a lot of other better series that are only waiting to be watched.

--

--