How America controls our media

Aaron Hutterer
Inside the News Media
2 min readJan 18, 2017

Don’t worry, America is not directly controlling our media…at least not as far as I know. However, America has constantly played an important factor in our news. The main reason for that was or still is, obviously, the US presidential election and with Trump being around more “American” news are to be expected.

Anyway, earlier today, I had a look at the Spiegel and was greeted by Obama and Trump. All of the first few articles dealt with America which surprised me quite a lot. Why was I surprised you might wonder? Well, let me explain that for you. Usually news pages are structured in a way that you find the most striking and important news at the top of the page. Mostly these generate quite a number of views, simply because people are interested in recent major events which is the main reason for them being at the top.

Now back to my “story”. As I was scrolling down I came across an article, about Björn Höcke, a representative of the AfD, and the outrageous speech he held in Dresden. I don’t want to go into greater detail about his speech as this is not what I want to talk about. Let me just say that his speech would’ve been greatly appreciated in Nazi Germany.

In my opinion it’s a shame that these kind of news are not worthy of “being at the top” as they affect us and our country to a great extend. Yet it is listed somewhere “deep down” on the page. Of course Trump and America affect us as well but to a significantly less degree than a representative of a German party does. But still media is trying to tell us what is of importance and what is not. For me, this is a really worrisome trend which has to be looked at sooner or later.

--

--