Mass Surveillance in Germany: a Curse or a Blessing?

Aaron Hutterer
Inside the News Media
2 min readNov 30, 2016

In 2013 Edward Snowden copied and leaked classified information from the National Security Agency (NSA). His disclosures revealed that the NSA and the Five Eyes Intelligence Alliance run numerous global surveillance programs with the cooperation of telecommunication companies as well as European governments. Back then Angela Merkel promised to defend the German people from harm, as the violation of the private sphere qualifies as such. However, Merkel does not seem able to keep her promise after all.

A few weeks ago the German Government passed new rules concerning the work of the German Intelligence Service (BND). Amongst other things, this newly designed law permits the BND to tap internet hubs in Germany. These regulations are to come into force in 2017. However, this is not the only surveillance measure the German Government has taken recently. The Data Retention Directive is to start in a few months and it is already planned to relax the regulations for camera surveillance as well. Their goal is to prevent possible future incidents like acts of terrorism, shootings, you name them.

But is it really adequate for Germany to take these rather drastic steps? I do think so. Obviously I would prefer keeping my private conversations private or not being filmed by security cameras every single second, but if it helps creating a secure environment I’m more than willed to endure that. This does not mean that mass surveillance is an entirely good thing. I would not be surprised if people abuse it for whatever reason. However, if someone was to ask me if I want to keep my privacy or rather sacrifice it to prevent a terrorist attack, I would always choose the latter. Therefore, it is more like a blessing to me than a curse.

--

--