Only Local News Are Interesting News ?!

MareikeGr
Inside the News Media
2 min readMay 13, 2016

--

I am not sure if you know that phenomenon, being only interested in local or national news. I will hopefully make sure that you’ll understand my issue.

When I spent one year abroad I only concerned about news happening over there. I did not care a lot about German headlines because I wasn’t present. Maybe that was quite self-involved but around that time I was only interested in exploring that foreign country.

But to be honest it is not really different over here. We care about local, national or European news. The reasons for that seem to be obvious. These news are available, concrete and close. People want to be informed about closer problems or issues. They might affect them. Violent conflicts, taking place in other countries, far away, can not be realised. We see pictures but we still cannot fully understand what is going on over there.

Referring to the news order in the daily Tagesschau broadcast, (please scroll down, yo will find the “Top 10”) we mostly care about national happenings. Information about continuing attacks in Aleppo, where people die, over and over again, appear as the fifth information.

I will not discuss the obvious loss of humanity concerning news media. I will try to stick to my topic. There are facts - even global ones - which are mentioned primarily, e.g. concerning the US president, the US elections etc. But the fact, I wanted to point out, was that the system how news are spread follow our interests. The agency has found out what Germans are interested the most, that’s how they set their information.

But you cannot relate German business problems to people who are dying in war zones. So who decides that the economic issues are named first? Why do we mostly care for local news? Isn’t it selfish? What’s about humanity? Only because it’s far away we care less? Or it has to be mentioned later? I do not share that opinion!

Feel free to display your opinions!!!

--

--