Philipp Rammelt
Inside the News Media
2 min readJun 21, 2016

--

Pixar’s “Flop"

Today I was eating breakfast together with my girlfriend. I was checking the results of the NBA Finals and was happy to read that the Cavaliers won their first Championship. Out of a sudden my girlfriend sighed and loudly criticised the quality of the article she was reading via her latest app Flipboard. The article from Spiegel Online is about Pixar’s latest production “Finding Dory” which set a new sales record after its release in June 2016.

Although this is basically the information of the article there was one thing that my girlfriend found disturbing: In a short passage the author argues that Pixar finally managed to create another successful film with “Finding Dory” after its’ more recent productions, “The Good Dinsosaur” in particular, flopped. You might wonder why this is such big deal to me and I admit that I wouldn’t have thought about it twice if my girlfriend, an obsessive Disney and Pixar fan, had not told me that the information is simply wrong.

Yes, the film was not able to cover its expenses but what is your definition of a flop?

Certainly not a movie that got a rating of 77% on Rotten Tomatoes, ranking second behind “The Hunger Games — Mockingjay” in the U.S. movie charts. The idea behind the film was to attract particularly a younger audience than usual. As a result it lacks the kind of humour that makes even parents break out in laughter which makes it different from previous productions. What is, however, more important is that the author casually includes other recent productions into his assumption that Pixar had been unsuccessful with its’ recent productions. It is absurd to write such a thing as the contrary is the case.

In 2015, along with “The Good Dinosaur” the film “Inside Out” was released. This production was far away from a flop playing in over $800 million worldwide and receiving several awards. One could also go back to “Brave", released in 2012, which was another success for Pixar, winning the Academy Award and the Golden Globe

I am asking myself why the author of the article was thinking when he just threw in some random information about Pixar without even checking facts. It’s a shame that an article like this is even published. What I just cannot understand is what other motivation than no motivation at all it could be, that makes you write false facts.

--

--