Reflection on “Inside the News Media”

Skarlett Müller
Inside the News Media
2 min readFeb 8, 2017

To be quite honest, four month ago, I had a totally different view on news media. Not even realizing how important it is to follow the occasions that are going on in the world. Also I have to admit that before I was attending the seminar “Inside the News Media”, I did not really care for all of the overwhelming information we receive daily. Besides listening to the radio and checking the newest posts of friends on Facebook once in a while, I did not really pay great attention to the news media.

But with the seminar and its content my thinking and interest started to change. From now on I look at it through different eyes. Dealing with the various media, in the past few weeks, seeing all these different opportunities where to get the newest updates from and how joyful it can be to discover these great masses on media, totally changed my view and interest. Since then I started my mornings with a cup of coffee and the newspaper next to me. I did not really have the time to read everything in depth but to skim over the text was possible and quite enjoyable. In addition to that the smell of the freshly printed ink will accompany you all day long. It sounds weird but try it. Besides paying more attention to the news, whether they are printed, digitalized or even spoken out loud, I also became aware of their truthfulness. Fake News are the two words that followed us through this seminar and was used in so many different ways. After all I have learned not to believe in everything I read, and therefore consult as many sources as possible to find the truth behind it. Whereby, in the end it is the reader/listener/viewer that decides what to believe or not to believe.

Thank you Mr. Miller for changing my point of view and making me think more critical about the news media.

--

--