Social Networks Are Stealing Your Life

MareikeGr
Inside the News Media
2 min readJun 22, 2016

Whereas I wrote about Facebook’s good parts last time, this entry shall show how social networks influence our life, especially the teenagers’ life.

We all grew up with technology to a certain extent, but we also had a childhood, playing outside, getting dirty and did not spend our time in front of an ipad. So I would say, we can interrupt ourselves from spending too much time on social networks. I do not want to say that all the kids, growing up today, don’t have social skills anymore… I just want to point out that they might loose control over the time they are using Facebook, instagram, pinterest etc. faster than we do.

They also care less for news in general. I guess its not their fault. The problem is that we have too many opportunities on the internet today. There are way too many social networks, too many distractions on the internet to be able to focus on important issues. Kids from today grow up with far more technology than we had at this stage. I know, normal technological advance and social development, but anyway I don’t think it’s a good idea to overload children with social media oder media in general. They have to stick to the real life so that they want to inform about what’s going on. When they only live in the virtual world they probably won’t care about the world’s happenings. But it’s real life so they should know how important it is to receive news about the ongoing in the world.

So I appeal to all the parents out there: make sure your kids do not loose their connection to the real world, to real people. They are the next generation. Young adults who are completely unable to talk about current news, do not know how to vote or do not have an opinion on violent conflicts - that is a sad imagination. I know not everybody is interested in news or politics, which is okay, but we should know at least roughly what is happening in the world and participate in life.

Have a look at the articles I stuck to my entry, it’s about the social media addiction from teens, it’s quite sad, but interesting !!!

--

--