stronger, skinnier, faster, richer, better…perfect!?

Annika Fritzsche
Inside the News Media
3 min readMay 11, 2016

--

How my Dad and I used to change my e-mail address a gazillion times until I finally did not get as many spam mails anymore, I remember very well. Don’t ask me why the way it was spelled, how long it was and what punctuation it contained made any difference in the amount of spam mail I received, I have no clue, but unfortunately it worked. What a blessing!

Today though it’s impossible to prevent yourself from getting spam mails (at least that is what it feels like) and also there is no way around advertisers, unless you boycott any kind of social media or better the internet as a whole.

Anytime I browse any of my apps like BBC News, or Spiegel online, etc. on my phone and also anytime I open up my facebook account I realize how much of this crap is on there.

Not that I am already overwhelmed and almost swamped by all the options I have to click on to be finally up to date again, but in addition there are advertising banners to manipulate my brain on top of it all. This banner right here, for example, followed me all day….

It’s no secret that you barely can have any secrets from the internet and also that it forgets nothing. So this advertisers obviously somehow fit my interest, because sometime in the past I have been browsing their websites or something like that, so they think that I am always interested in their products, like Tchibo.

I am also shown adds like this one below:

Of course one can argue that you do not need to pay any attention to those advertisers, but subconsciously everyone does automatically. Well, on good days I am mostly able to do so, but especially those motivational advertisers like “How To Get Flat Tummy In 10 Days” and crap like that really piss me off. It’s all about being stronger, skinnier, faster, richer, better…perfect! Not that it is just wrong but it does not belong on a rather reliable medium as BBC News, for instance, where serious topics are discussed and the reader is informed about what is going on in the world.

If I wanted to inform myself about how to be stronger, skinnier, faster, richer, better etc. I could go on google, I am sure google would have an answer for me. And this, at the same time, is highly ironic, because google as one instance is responsible for them knowing so much about us.

Why the hell though do they show adds like the one I posted above to people whose BMI is perfectly fine?

…I guess research was not done too well, eh?

--

--