The Dark Future of the Newspaper

Lisa Antropius
Inside the News Media
1 min readJan 30, 2017

In my opinion, in some decades printed newspapers (at least the daily ones) are gonna be the next dinosaurs, they’ll die out.
I have collected some reasons and arguments for my thesis:

  1. They are too expensive. Let’s assume that it would cost three euros per day, thats roughly 90 bucks a month if you don’t have a subscription. Ninety euros that you could save if you want to, which leads us to reason number two.
  2. Most of the important information can be found on the internet, the radio, or in the news on TV — for free.
  3. The circulation of daily newspapers has been increasing for the last couple of years.
  4. It’s so much easier to catch up with the latest news on your smartphone or tablet and you can easily read it while you’re sitting in the train or bus. You don’t necessarily have to buy a printed copy to read the newspaper.

I need to admit it, I’m not a really big fan of newspapers at all. Of course, once in a while I really enjoy reading one. But I don’t have time to read them on a daily basis. Most of the time I’m just doing some research on the internet on a specific topic that interests me.

For me, a good compromise are the weekly papers. You can enjoy them on your lazy Sunday or just on any other day you find the time for them.

--

--