Time to…say Goodbye!

Katharina Lantzsch
Inside the News Media
2 min readFeb 8, 2017

Well, the semester is already almost over now and although I never liked old people saying „the time is running too fast“ I more and more must admit: they are so right! Time is just running. Time is running when you look back at it. But not only then. It is also running when you are doing something you enjoy. So did I with our course „Inside the News Media“.

Although the time (8 pm) is not really that time of the day in which I feel the freshest, I never felt bored when going to our classes on Thursday mornings. I never left a session with not having learned something I did not know before. Let me just mention some of them: I am a fan of Tagesschau since they are short and contain most important news. I did not see that they mostly show men in suits and political parties…ugh…I now watch them with different eyes. Additionally, I did not know, that journalists prewrite their stories on people who are propably going to die within the next years. Their published mistakes were so funny! It was also interesting to see how Facebook and several other big media companies make their money. Gosh — Advertising is so important!

During the last couple of month I realized that writing blogposts is not one of my biggest talents. However, I tried to find some issues to be worth having a look at concerning the news media. Although I initially struggled with not focussing on a particular story but putting more emphasis on criticizing media, I more and more enjoyed trying to find some interesting reports. More than ever do I know now, that it is important to read/watch/consume the media critically.

Thank you, Geoffrey!

--

--