Whatch out for your footwear — high-heels can be dangerous!

Annika Fritzsche
Inside the News Media
2 min readMay 25, 2016

Today I came across an article on SPIEGEL ONLINE that caught my attention and made my busride a quite amusing one…

In advance, I have to clearify that I am not a huge fan of high-heels. I find them very uncomfortable and as I am already tall, wearing them makes me feel like a giant, very unpleasant….plus I prefer dancing all night long instead of leaving the club after 2 hours (max!), because I am not able to walk anymore and, on top of it all, beeing pissed because my feet hurt like hell ;) Since everyone is responsible for their own choices I think that complaining about hurting feet is inappropriate! ’Cause you decided to wear those shoes, right? ;) I am exaggerating a little here, BUT yes, just wear sneakers, they are the best! :D Anyway, this is just some background information on why this article below made me laugh and wonder at the same time….

In summary, in 2014 a woman broke her foot because she fell after being stuck in a whole of a mat with her high-heels (4,5 cm) at the theatre. Because she could not work or play any sports for several month she took the city to court. She lost and the vedict was that she could have passed the mad on her highheels accident free if she would have been more careful and that it is basically her own responsibility.

I immediately thought that in the US she probably would have won the trial, but the actual funny thing is that she even made the effort of blaming the city for her accident, I mean seriously??? That would be like me taking my landlord to court because I fell down the stairs being unobserving or something like that…would I do that? No, because that would be embarrasing…

Of course it is not funny that she broke her foot and was not able to do much for a while, but at the same time the whole situation is just a little ridiculous. This is what made me wonder why SPIEGEL ONLINE informes the world about this? Probably, because they find it just as amusing as I do and because they want to prevent other people from going through all this stress….? I can’t think of any other reason, it leaves me speechless, but still giggling ;)

--

--