Are We Invisible? Questions About Dark Matter And The Fermi Paradox

A new look at an old quandary

Grant Piper
Inside the Simulation

--

The background radiation of the universe. (Public domain)

I want to preface this by saying I am not an astrophysicist to deter the inevitable comments that will try and disqualify my musings because I do not have a certain degree. I am not an astrophysicist, I am not pretending to be anything other than what I am. I am a writer with a degree in philosophy and a passion for thinking, wondering, questioning, and astronomy.

Sometime in the year 1950, after the end of the Second World War, physicist Enrico Fermi was visiting Los Alamos National Laboratory with colleagues. Legend has it that a group of top scientists was walking to grab lunch at Fuller Lodge when the topic of extraterrestrials came up.

The physicists discussed the feasibility of objects traveling faster than light. They pondered about whether or not flying saucers could have such technology. Many flatly said that the flying saucers were a hoax. It was standard water cooler chatter between peers. A lighthearted and interesting topic not unlike thousands of conversations that are hard at work every day.

When the group made it inside and sat down to eat, Enrico Fermi asked a question that still haunts us today.

Where is everybody?

--

--

Grant Piper
Inside the Simulation

Professional writer. Amateur historian. Husband, father, Christian.