j’ba fofi spider cryptid
Image source: Alderac Entertainment Group

J’Ba Fofi: Giant Spider of the Congo

The Itsy Bitsy Spider…

Renee Rose
6 min readMar 13, 2019

--

Spiders are one of my biggest fears. We all have that one thing that makes our skin crawl with a single thought. For me, that one thing is spiders. Anything with more than four legs freaks me out substantially and arachnids have always been at the top of the list.

At the same time, I also particularly enjoy cryptids that genuinely terrify me and make it hard to sleep at night. So when it came to deciding exactly what kind of cryptid I wanted to make my first cryptozoology post, I decided to bite the bullet. If I’m going to talk about spiders, I’m going to talk about the biggest spider of them all- the J’Ba Fofi. I don’t think most people have heard of the J’Ba Fofi and for that reason I feel it all the more necessary to push past my utter terror.

Here we go.

J’Ba Fofi: The Not So Itsy Bitsy Spider

Finding this beautiful artistic interpretation of the J’Ba Fofi was incredibly difficult. Difficult, that is, because it’s really hard to image search with your eyes closed. I have no idea why I’m doing this but let’s continue.

The J’Ba Fofi (translating in the language of the Baka people of Congo as, “giant spider”) is commonly attributed to the dense forests of Congo. As of most creatures of…

--

--

Renee Rose
Inside the Simulation

Freelance Writer. Blogger. UFO enthusiast and lover of space. Email me at: reneerosefreelancing@gmail.com