Carmen’s new beginning

Meet our new intern from Seville

VBAT Refreshing
Inside VBAT
4 min readFeb 6, 2020

--

Carmen Andres

¡Hola a todos!

My name is Carmen and I’m from Seville, a very sunny city in the south of Spain. After visiting VBAT during an university trip to Amsterdam, I didn’t hesitate to apply for an internship as soon as I graduated! Less than one year later here I am, living in an amazing new city while doing what I enjoy the most. During the next few months here, I want to learn as much as I can, continue improving as a designer and push new boundaries to see how far my ideas can go.

Ever since I can remember I’ve had a deep interest in art but due to the low offer of creative education I didn’t consider pursuing a creative career until after I finished secondary school. I’m always very excited to go on new adventures and challenges so, four years ago I jumped on a plane and moved to England to get my BA in Graphic Design & Multimedia at University of Worcester. In this time, I met some of my closest friends, won a D&AD New Blood Wooden Pencil and graduated last November with a first-class degree. I think it’s safe to say the risk was totally worth it!

While studying, I had the great opportunity of gaining professional experience working at the university’s Communications Department and at small printing studio creating banners and posters for different events. The most exciting and my favourite part of these jobs was getting to see my work when walking around the city.

Form your Future.

Form your Future is my university’s third year major project. The lack of creative possibilities in education that I experienced when trying to figure out what career I wanted to take, inspired the theme for my study. During the research stage, I also found out that there is a progressive drop of students applying for creative subjects every year in the UK, which puts the industry on risk of having a shortage of creatives. Form Your Future is an initiative that aims to offer information and support to young creatives concerning their choice for a future profession. It hopes to inspire and encourage students into pursuing a career in art or design, so the current situation is reversed.

I love crafts and making things by hand so, creating a stand for students’ exhibitions and other events seemed like the perfect excuse to bring out the hot glue gun and build a real 3D model using printed vinyl and correx board.

Jucee.

One of the projects I’ve enjoyed the most working on, is the design of a purely typographic packaging for the brand Jucee. The challenge was to appeal to a young audience without using any images or illustrations, all the messages had to be communicated by text. My solution was these bright and bold juice cartons, each one has the shape of the fruit corresponding to the flavour.

Recently, I’ve also discovered a passion for Photography thanks to a couple modules I was able to take at university. This is a skill I like to develop in my free time by experimenting with different concepts and techniques.

For the next few weeks I’ll be taking over the @vbatmeetmarket Instagram account so go and have a look at what I’m up to!

¡Hasta pronto!

If you enjoyed this story, please clap👏 and share to help others find it! Feel free to leave a comment below.

Follow VBAT: Instagram | Facebook |Linkedin |Twitter
written by Rita Silvestre, Creative Intern at VBAT
edited by Connie Fluhme, PR at VBAT

--

--

VBAT Refreshing
Inside VBAT

Multidisciplinary Branding and Design agency. Constantly Creative, Always Refreshing. Creating Iconic Brands.