Daisy is here

New creative blood at VBAT

VBAT Refreshing
Inside VBAT
3 min readApr 21, 2016

--

By Daisy van der Genugten
Creative Intern at VBAT

Photo: thefuturenowcast.com

Hoi!

My name is Daisy and I am one of the new interns at VBAT. I’ve just completed my second year of the graphic design course at AKV | St. Joost in Breda. One part of this course has been my exchange to England. I’ve been following one semester at Leeds college of art which has been an amazing experience and adventure. Another part of the course is this internship, which I’m really excited about.

Being creative has always been important to me. I remember saying that I was planning a career as a graphic designer when I was only eleven years old. Not even knowing what “graphic” or “design” really meant. A teacher told me it had something to do with drawing barcodes for products (seven days a week, nine hours a day), ehh what? Yes, they actually told us things like that. I’m happy this didn’t threw me off guard because it turned out to be the best choice I’ve made. (The designing part).

I started the graphic design course at Mediacollege in Amsterdam. Won the Johannes Hendrik Meijer price/scholarship and decided to continue studying graphic design at AKV | St. Joost.

Awardwinning work by Daisy van der Genugten. Photography: Nes Theaters

So here I am, whereas I’ve made the step to knowing one or two things about graphic design, deciding what to do (or specialize in) with the rest of my life is a whole different story. Do I want to learn more about animations? Identities? Branding? Typography? Packaging? Everything?

This is why I’m so excited about this internship, VBAT works with a lot of clients with a broad range of interesting and inspiring projects. Most of these projects cover a lot of disciplines which will hopefully help me to discover what I’m good at (weaknesses and strengths) or enjoy doing most.

Even though I’ve only been here for two weeks, I’m so excited! I really like the big, light and bright work place. Something else I immediately noticed is the friendly atmosphere, which creates an enjoyable environment to work and learn in. I’ve already learned so much in these two weeks, I’m currently working on an animation which is a whole new technique for me. But I’ve also accompanied our creative director Graham Sturt to two of his Dutch Design Hero interviews with Hans Bockting and Jan van Toorn, which has been so inspiring!

I’ll keep you posted about my progress here at VBAT, I will share with you where I get my inspiration from and what I’ll learn here for the coming months. So join me on this exciting journey! See you soon!

Daisy in front of the VBAT office.

Follow VBAT on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
written by Daisy van der Genugten
Creative Intern at VBAT
edited by Connie Fluhme
PR at VBAT

--

--

VBAT Refreshing
Inside VBAT

Multidisciplinary Branding and Design agency. Constantly Creative, Always Refreshing. Creating Iconic Brands.