Exploring Agency Life Vol. I

Starting to climb the career ladder

VBAT Refreshing
Inside VBAT
3 min readMar 1, 2016

--

By Tijs Kramer
Creative Intern at VBAT

Image: Courtesy of wsj.com

And so the journey begins…

Who’s journey? What journey? And where to?
Well, my journey. Hi! I’m Tijs Kramer, 25 years old and my journey as the new creative intern at VBAT has just begun.

Tijs in front of the VBAT office in Amsterdam.

People always tend to ask me: “What do you want to do when you grow up?”, What would really make you happy?” And after years of studying at both a conservatory for Jazz music and the academy of creative technology, trying to find answers, I realised the answer couldn’t be right because the questions were wrong in the first place. Because in my perspective, the implication in these two questions is that you’re neither doing what you want, nor that you are happy.

Being young of mind it’s nearly impossible to make a long term prediction on your future. Even people that get paid to make predictions for you (by reading the palm of your hand or the stars in the sky), have often been debunked as to be frauds. So when it comes to you, all you can do is follow your heart. But your heart isn’t psychic, nor is it from the future. So whatever answer you think you’re getting isn’t about what you want to do later, it’s about what you dream of doing now!

A good example for instance was just a few days ago. The entire evening before and on my way to work, I really felt like continuing on this project that was assigned to me. In my head I had even finished it a couple of times. But when I came in, Mel, the other intern, had made these fabulous milkshakes. So instead of immediately crawling behind the computer and starting on the assignment, I chose to enjoy a milkshake beforehand. And that, ladies and gentleman, illustrates perfectly just how much control we really have, or rather don’t have, on our future.

So back to me, focussing on packaging design as the new creative intern, I don’t want to become a packaging designer, nor do I want to become happy. I am a packaging designer and I am happy. Considering the fact that I’m still a trainee, I’d like to refer to my motto: “Fake it till you make it!” I don’t know where the journey at VBAT will take me, all I know is that at every intersection I’ll go where ever my heart wants me to go. Armed with a ton of motivation and eager to learn, I’m ready to accept all the challenges on the way, and hope I can leave a positive footprint here at VBAT.

From my portfolio
From my portfolio

I will update you on a regular base about my journey here, so stay tuned.

If you enjoyed reading this, please click “Recommend” below.
This will help to share the story with others.

Follow VBAT on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Written by Tijs Kramer
Creative Intern at VBAT
edited by Connie Fluhme
PR at VBAT

--

--

VBAT Refreshing
Inside VBAT

Multidisciplinary Branding and Design agency. Constantly Creative, Always Refreshing. Creating Iconic Brands.