Internship? Start your research today!

A guide to finding your perfect internship

Laura Voet
Inside VBAT

--

When I started my studies at the Art Academy, I had no idea what kind of companies there were in my field. When I heard a name of a nice company, I always wrote it down. But when I started to look for an internship, I still didn’t have a good overview of all the agencies in The Netherlands. It was time for some research.

I started googling ‘graphic design agencies’ and received so many results of places that I never knew about. Afterwards I made an overview of all the companies that I liked. A quick little text with the company place, website and short bio. At the end I had a document of all the companies that I could find in The Netherlands and made a top 5.

Before you make a top 5, write down what you want to learn during your internship. Do you want to learn more about packaging design, corporate identity or do you want to work for cultural projects?

Write down what you want to learn during your internship. That’s making your research a lot easier.

To make it a little bit easier, I will put some agencies down below. The agencies are really different from each other, but it will give you an idea of the diversity in The Netherlands.

Fontanel is also a good website to keep an eye on, they offer you a lot of jobs and internships as well. If you know of any great websites of agencies, feel free to comment into this text. I’ll add them, so we create a nice overview together. Oh no, I wish I found this a bit earlier; Dexigner, an overview of creative agencies all around the world.

Tip: Start searching early! Agencies are more interested when you are early and there will be more space at the agencies you like!

Small or a bigger agency?

In the beginning I was convinced that I would like to go to a small agency.
I thought that a small agency will give me more responsibility. But now, I’m glad I chose for a bigger agency because they can offer me so much more. There are so many people and everyone has a specific qualification. I often go to colleagues and ask them what they are working on and why they’re doing things the way they do. Everyone is working in other ways and it’s nice to see the difference.

What I also like as an intern at a bigger agency, is collaborating. Because VBAT has bigger projects, they’re working together in teams. As intern you learn so much of working together because you see how your colleagues are making decisions.

I’m glad I chose for a bigger agency because they can offer me so much more!

Inspiring atmosphere at VBAT (photo’s: Paul Barbera)

Be active

On the internet you can find anything you’re looking for, but don’t get stuck behind browsing online. Search for meetings, presentations, different markets. There are many things where you can find information about agencies and Graphic Design.

For example, go to Meet Market! This is a great opportunity for you as a student to broaden your network, have a talk with great designers and get feedback on how to improve your portfolio. Vroaam is a great opportunity to hear more about the working field as well. I can recommend you to go to What Design Can Do, an international event about the impact of Design in Amsterdam. And De Zwijger has nice Creativity related events during the year as well.

Don’t get stuck behind your computer, be active! Go to Meet market, Vroaam and What Design Can Do

Advice from the Creatives of VBAT

“My advice to anyone looking for an internship would be to be determined (you may have to contact a lot of people before you get one), produce killer work, try and work with agencies you admire (or even idolise) and please please be enthusiastic. A great attitude, even the occasional smile, can make all the difference to a potential employer when deciding to give you that very first opportunity in the design industry. Good luck!”
Graham Sturt — Creative Director

“I had my internship at a small agency in Sliedrecht. They didn’t have place for an intern, but I said that I wanted to take a look for a day. After that day they offered me an internship and after my internship a job. It is all about your motivation.”
Rob Deurenberg — Creative

‘Be informed about what’s going on in your preferred company by following your agencies of interest on social media. Try to get in touch with a company trough your connections, so they can introduce you.
An introduction is always better then sending an email to a info@agency.com address.’
Annet Kloprogge — Strategist

If you enjoyed reading this, please click “Recommend” below.
This will help to share the story with others.

--

--