The Curves of Learning

Internship at VBAT: One big exercise

Paul David Lett
Inside VBAT
2 min readAug 6, 2015

--

These past 2 months have been one hell of a learning curve in more than one area. From figuring out routes to places in Amsterdam, and actually remembering them, to figuring out what to cook for a woman once a week. But by far the steepest curve, is working as an intern at VBAT.

First things first, don’t get me wrong, this is not a negative statement; working there is everything I have been working for, for the past 2 years. I decided I wanted to be a graphic designer, and I’m sticking to it! And enjoying it!

I was pretty naive about what I would be doing, apart from using Adobe software. The first week didn’t disappoint. One of the first things I had to do seemed pretty straightforward; mounting prints on sticky foam board.

The devil on one shoulder was saying ‘yeah no probs, just wing it’, but the angel on the other thankfully was saying ‘no, patience dear boy, just wait and be shown the proper way!’

So I got shown the proper way, then had a go myself, and it was a lot harder than I thought! The sticky surface is like super glue, so there is essentially no margin for error! I did mess one up, but the rest, with a lot of patience, I got through fine! (wipes brow)

Fairly soon in my first few days, I was set some Illustrator and Photoshop work. This really brought me down a peg or two! I thought I was pretty average at both, but I struggled with what I was set, and when I peered over the shoulders of the other creatives, I was really blown away by their skills. It was frustrating, I really wanted to know everything now, and be as good as them now, but I have to be patient (again), I will gain the skills in time. Luckily my mentor is always happy to help, as is everyone else, which is great.

So for now it’s just practise, practise, practise.

How do I do that frikkin layer mask again?……

If you enjoyed reading this, please click “Recommend” below.
This will help to share the story with others.

Follow VBAT on Twitter | Like us on Facebook

--

--