The Next Step

Entering the agency world

VBAT Refreshing
Inside VBAT
3 min readSep 29, 2016

--

Written by Eva Welten
Creative Intern at VBAT

Portfoliowork by Eva Welten. Source: Eva Welten

Hi, my name is Eva Welten and I am a creative student at Nimeto in Utrecht. For the next five months I will work at VBAT for my internship. I’m very excited for the time to come.

Eva Welten. Source: Eva Welten

When I was a kid, I never thought about doing something in the creative sector. Creativity runs in the family; my mom is a graphic designer and my grandfather is an architect. Since my youth I was surrounded with inspiration and creativity.
I never thought of doing anything creative, because it was kind of ‘normal’ for me. When I started looking for a study and came across Nimeto, I was completely sold. From that moment on I was very motivated to become a creative designer.

I find my inspiration in a lot of things, like visiting museums. One of my favourites is the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam. I go there often with my mom, if there’s a nice exhibition we both like. Being busy with creative things in my free time gives me energy and motivates me to become a really good designer.

At Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam. Source: Eva Welten

Last year I interned at a company that also creates brand identities and packaging design. During my last internship, I found out that creating brand identities and packaging design is the work I want to develop myself. It is fulfilling to create things that people are attracted to. It feels good when the design works, and people like the product because of the design, or the well designed brand.

It was an impressive start. It still is. The people at VBAT inspire me and create beautiful things. There are a lot of interesting people to meet and interact with. I get a lot of energy working in this sparkling environment. We also do a lot of fun things, after working hours. In my second week, we had a creative excursion through Amsterdam on bikes. It was fun! The excursion was led by David Quay, who showed us different kinds of historical typography on buildings in Amsterdam.

I am always looking for new great challenges, and I am curious to find out what’s next. In the coming 5/10 years I hope that I’ve graduated for two studies and work at a company where I can practise my creativity like I do now. I also hope to have worked at some organizations in other countries…

I joined VBAT around a month ago and already did some amazing things. For the coming time I hope to do a lot more, and I’m really excited about the next five months! I’ll keep you posted.

If you enjoyed reading this, please click 💚 “Recommend” below. This will help to share the story with others.

Follow VBAT on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
written by Eva Welten
Creative Intern at VBAT

--

--

VBAT Refreshing
Inside VBAT

Multidisciplinary Branding and Design agency. Constantly Creative, Always Refreshing. Creating Iconic Brands.