The Packaging Design Talent Files

# 2— BNO Packaging Talent Award winner Sabine Krouwer

VBAT Refreshing
Inside VBAT
6 min readDec 9, 2015

--

By Connie Fluhme
PR at VBAT

BNO NEXTpack is turning the spotlight on Dutch Packaging Design. Sabine Krouwer won the first prize at the BNO Packaging Talent Award 2015 with her packaging design for Koopeenkoe.nl. This year she graduated on the GMI School of Design in Graphic Design. She was trained in the evenings beside her full time job. In the last year Krouwer and her fellow students developed a brand identity for a soft drink. Only the name of the drink was known. Otherwise everything was to be completed. Krouwer: “It was a challenge to make all aspects of a brand exciting, but it has definitely increased my interest in packaging design.” In this interview, she shares her experience with the BNO Packaging Talent Award.

Sabine Krouwer. Source: Creative Mornings

What, in a nutshell, is your background?

SK: “In 2011, I completed a Master Business Administration and started as a Strategy Analyst at Heineken headquarters in Amsterdam.

It soon became apparent that I found communicating and positioning a brand more interesting than calculating the figures.

So I went looking for the creative side of the marketing profession and have made a significant career change. Since 3.5 years I am working as a graphic designer at Zeeman + Beemster in Amsterdam. They have given me the unique opportunity to learn the design profession on-the-job, and I am grateful for that. In addition, I started my training in Graphic Design, which I completed last June. In design we work on diverse projects; designing logos and branding as well as executing packaging design … mainly for beer brands of Heineken.”

How did you find out about the BNO Packaging Talent Award?

SK: “Actually, by chance, I noticed this competition only a month before the deadline came up, and I thought immediately: ‘I want to join!’”

Why did you do it?

SK: “I’m very busy with packing for my work, but this is often the executive and technical work. Adapting a design to a new die cutter for example, where the design is already established. It seemed like an excellent opportunity to me to do just invent a concept and design for a package here.”

Why did you choose the briefing of koopeenkoe.nl and not for Philips?

SK: “When I read the mission of Koopeenkoe, I immediately got a lot of ideas and I immediately could paint a good picture of the target market for this product. The briefing for of Philips — coming up with a second life solution for the packaging of its Easy SpeedPlus iron — I could identify myself with a little less. I never iron!”

The jury said about your design: “A beautifully executed design with a premium look, which koopeenkoe likes to be associated with. Although the bags “Koedybag” should be adjusted because of logistic reasons, the jury found that there are so many good elements in this design that the first price is justified. The recipe with the thank-you letter, the closing seal, the handy colour coding and clear labelling information etc. Everything looks great and ensures that you as a customer will be reassured in your choice of a quality product. The jury chose this entry unanimously as the best.” How do you like this comment?

SK: “Wow … yeah … can not be better, right ?!

I totally did not expect that I would win because I entered into the world of design with a detour, but this is a confirmation that I made the right choice.

I like this kind of work very much, there is still so much to discover and learn!”

Sabine Krouwers designs for Koopeenkoe.nl. Source: BNO NEXTpack.

How much time did you spend on the game?

SK: “I had just signed in late July, so I had only five weeks to think about it and work it out.”

How did you get the idea for the design?

SK: “I had a critical look at the website of Koopeenkoe to see how the process is carried out — from order to delivery. I also took a close look at the house style. I saw that they already came up with a wordplay with the ‘Koepon’ and then it occurred to me: it is a Koedybag! Clearly derived from the word Goodybag, a bag with quality products, where you can pamper yourself or someone else with. And that fits perfectly with the charisma and goals of Koopeenkoe.”

What design choices you’ve made?

SK: “I designed a single model in the form of a bag so it really is a KoedyBAG and no KoedyBOX. The material should be firm, so I chose brown cardboard. This implements an idea of craftsmanship and quality with the consumer. In terms of colours, I looked at the current corporate identity and I used only black and red / brown. The front and back are completely filled typographically and I chose to fill the the sides with a full colour image. The label on the vacuum packaging is a sticker that indicates clearly (with text and colour codes) which piece of meat there is in the package. I opted to include the thank you note not as a loose A4 note, but to add it as a preface to the recipe. I also have included a check-list in the recipe book to check off what meat is already eaten. That also prevents from a quest in the freezer.”

What does the award mean to you? Would you advise others to join it?

SK: “Hopefully a nice new job in packaging and / or branding. I definitely recommend other students to take part in this competition.

It’s a fun way to discover the world of packaging and to experience what’s involved in translating a brand identity to packaging for the product.”

What other submitted design did you like, and why?

SK: “The other entries I’ve seen very briefly. All nominations were only exhibited during the awards ceremony. Those were beautiful designs; another nomination for Koopeenkoe also had a funny concept for a package in the form of a newspaper, the KOErant. And another zoomed in on the ear tag, which I liked a lot.”

Have you had any further contact with Koopenkoe.nl yet? Will they go on with your design?

SK: “I’ve been at Koopeenkoe in Baambrugge last week to discuss the concept and design. For now, the Koedybag will not be realized because of logistical and budget constraints, but the recipe I’ll go shaping and it will be printed, so hopefully consumers will soon receive it with their meat package.”

Do you really want to further your career in packaging design?

SK: “Yes, definitely!

Packaging is a critical element for the decision of the consumer and therefore a very important part of marketing a product. I think it’s a nice challenge to create a package that completely translates the strategy and the concept of a product.

And finally to convince the consumer with the appearance of the brand.”

(Source: BNO NEXTpack)

If you enjoyed reading this, please click “Recommend” below.
This will help to share the story with others.

Follow VBAT on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
written by Connie Fluhme PR at VBAT

--

--

VBAT Refreshing
Inside VBAT

Multidisciplinary Branding and Design agency. Constantly Creative, Always Refreshing. Creating Iconic Brands.