Incorporating Wellness Into Your Workday

Flipp
Inside Flipp
Published in
5 min readJul 31, 2019

It’s not uncommon for modern companies to promote wellness initiatives as a part of the workplace. Whether it’s extended benefits programs or in-office programs like yoga or workout classes, many organizations are now offering their team members an opportunity to prioritize their physical and mental well-being. At Flipp, we believe in fostering four quadrants of our team members. Or, what we like to call the “4Qs” — vocational, relational, physical and emotional. Whether it’s a meditation room, on-site weekly yoga classes, and health practitioners or the flexibility to work from home, we want to ensure we build programs to support our team members in all of these areas.

Our Marketing Manager, Stephanie Nairn, is a firm believer in the power of taking time to invest in yourself outside of the office as well. Steph is a certified SUP (stand-up paddleboarding) instructor, yoga teacher, and lover of the lake. We chatted with Steph to gain some helpful tips on how to bring wellness practices into your day-to-day — even if you only have a few minutes.

Have you always been interested in yoga and wellness? If not, what sparked your interest?

I actually got into yoga through a Pilates studio where I was taking classes to help with back pain. I fell in love with yoga and cherished the time on my mat where I was totally free from distractions and technology. When you work in social media marketing, that time can feel rare and I spend more time on Instagram than I care to admit.

How did you decide to pursue your yoga teacher training?

I wanted to dive deeper into the practice beyond just the physical postures that make up a typical Western yoga class and learn more about the history and philosophy behind it. Yoga was never about the exercise or executing advanced poses for me; it helps me bring intention and mindfulness to everything I do. I love how grounded I feel after practice and I wanted to be able to share that with other people.

What things do you do on a regular basis that help you to do your best work?

There are four non-negotiables in my self-care routine: movement, time in nature, rest, and meditation or breathwork.

I try to get exercise outdoors daily while the weather is nice, usually stand-up paddleboarding (SUP) or walking on Toronto’s waterfront. I also teach SUP and SUP yoga classes. When you’re on the lake, you can completely forget you’re in Toronto, especially if you get up for sunrise or paddle to the island. There’s actually evidence that just spending time near water benefits our mental health so I feel fortunate to live so close to Lake Ontario and make the most of it.

One of Steph’s early sunrise paddles on Lake Ontario

I’ve also learned to prioritize sleep and meditation. When I’m well-rested, I can concentrate better, I’m happier, and I experience less anxiety. Meditation came naturally as part of my yoga practice and became a key part of my mental health toolkit.

Are there small things you recommend people do throughout the day to help them feel good and stay focused?

Check in with your body frequently.

My smartwatch reminds me to move when I’ve been sedentary for almost an hour. It’s a good interval to gently stretch in your chair, roll your shoulders, give your eyes a minute of rest from staring at your computer screen, and do a quick scan of your body to see where you’re holding tension. I tend to clench my jaw, scrunch my shoulders up and even hold my breath when I’m focused so I need a reminder to loosen up from time to time.

Practice belly breathing.

Have you ever noticed how shallow your breath can be when you’re stressed or working hard? Even a few deep breaths that expand your belly followed by long, slow exhales will do you some good. Scientists have found that the way we breathe affects our brain chemistry, and using breath control can enhance our attention and improve our brain health. Breathing techniques commonly practiced in yoga and meditation are also known to relieve anxiety and reduce stress.

If you’re interested in trying breathwork, Headspace offers guidance on their blog.

Take a break at lunch.

This can mean different things for different people. Instead of trying to eat and work, take your food to the kitchen or lunchroom and enjoy some time with your teammates. You’re never as productive as you want to be when you try to eat and work.

If you’re more introverted like me, taking a walk outside can give you some quiet time with your thoughts and a chance to recharge between meetings. Everyone can benefit, though. A study just found two hours in nature a week is enough to boost your psychological and physical health. It doesn’t even have to be all at once! If you can take a walk in the park on your lunch break, you’ll be that much closer to your goal of two hours.

Move your body.

Sitting all the time isn’t healthy but it’s a reality of modern life. By now, everyone knows the benefits of physical activity range from maintaining cardiovascular health to releasing stress and reducing depression. Above all else, in order to make exercise something you can look forward to and stick with, you have to find something you enjoy. Maybe it’s taking a dance class, CrossFit, playing soccer with your kids, or simply walking or biking to work — just find a way to get some movement in your day. Flipp makes it easy for us with a free Goodlife gym membership in our office building, weekly on-site yoga and conditioning classes, as well as off-site sports events open to all team members.

What are some of your favourite tools to support your wellness (apps etc.)?

  1. For guided meditation, I use the Headspace and Insight Timer apps. If you have trouble falling asleep, they have amazing wind-downs and sleepcasts. Kids love them, too.
  2. When I need some new flows at home, Alo Moves or Glo are my go-to apps. They offer other types of fitness classes like Pilates and conditioning as well. Yoga with Adriene is a fantastic (free!) YouTube channel.
  3. A grippy yoga mat. Nothing ruins your flow like your hands and feet slipping in downward-facing dog.
  4. Local trails and park spaces. Getting outside is free and right outside the door, no equipment required. Self-care doesn’t need to be complicated or expensive.
  5. Friends. You’re more likely to stick to your goal if you have an accountability buddy that’s counting on you. Find a colleague to join you for lunchtime walks or picnics, or a friend to join you for a new fitness class after work so it’s less intimidating.

--

--