Meet Gabrien Symons

Inside Business Insider Blog
Inside Business Insider

--

I’m Gabrien Symons, a Senior Engineer and Designer on the Engagement Team. I joined Insider in 2010.

What does your team do? What do you like or find interesting about your team?

Our team works on building short term experiments that test different ways to increase return visits to the site. I look forward to our brain storming sessions. It’s a great place to over potential ideas with folks from different disciplines: product, process, testing, and engineering.

One of our mottos is “get better everyday”. What is something that you got better at recently?

I’ve recently gotten better at helping prepare the technical specifications for tickets in our upcoming sprints.

What are you most proud of having accomplished at Insider?

I’m most proud of the successful collaboration our teams have experienced on the bigger projects we’ve undertaken.

What is one thing you’d change in the tech industry?

I’d make spam robo-calling illegal!

If all animals were the same size, what animal do you think would win in a fight?

If the fight was the World Cuteness Championship, I think it would come down to a tie between a Yorkshire Terrier pup and a Pomeranian with a short pom cut.

What is something you could teach us in 5 minutes?

In five minutes I could teach you to draw!

If you could instantly master 3 skills, which would you choose?

It would be so cool to instantly master learning new languages, inventing anything, and teleportation.

--

--