How to Set and Accomplish Goals That Will Change Your Life

Lessons from experience and psychological research

Jonas Ressem
Insight

--

Photo by Luca Huter on Unsplash

As I tied my shoes and headed out the door, I immediately felt my heartbeat rise. I had thought about this goal for six long months, and now the day was here.

I was running my first marathon.

I’ve competed in sports for most of my life, but four years ago I quit. Running hadn’t been a priority for a long time, and other things occupied my mind; psychology, writing, relationships, etc.

But once I made the decision to compete again, all that changed. The world warped itself around my new goal, and I was right back in the running mindset.

Six months later I achieved it.

How did this happen?

Photo by me

“The New Word Effect”

Have you ever learned a new word, and then seen or heard it everywhere? Chances are you have. And that same mechanism plays a role in goal setting.

If you set your goal right, you’ll start to notice things that will help you achieve it. It will literally change your…

--

--

Jonas Ressem
Insight

From Norway. Building onliving.life. Exploring life through psychology, philosophy and entrepreneurship. Come explore with me: http://eepurl.com/dAtfdv