Self-Employment Ruined Me. This Is What I Learned

Jonas Ressem
Insight
Published in
8 min readJan 24, 2020

--

The rent was due in a few days, and I checked my bank-account. A shiver ran down my spine as I realized I couldn’t pay it. I couldn’t afford to live in my apartment anymore.

In May 2019, I finished my Bachelor’s degree in psychology. After several years of education, I had arrived at a moment of choice: I could either take it to the master’s level or I could try to make it as self-employed.

I knew the choice I made would have to sustain my living; a big enough income to pay for the basics, which were food, electricity and rent.

If I chose the master’s degree, I would have gotten economic support (thanks to Norway). If I chose self-employment, I would have to rely on the money I had saved up from various part-time jobs.

At first, I was a bit unsure. But considering I had dreamed of self-employment ever since I started the degree, I decided to go with this option. Even if it was the riskier one, I felt it was time to bet on my own; time to live my dream.

Side hustle

Photo by me

In the same period as I had worked on my bachelor’s thesis, I had also worked on my first book…

--

--

Jonas Ressem
Insight

From Norway. Building onliving.life. Exploring life through psychology, philosophy and entrepreneurship. Come explore with me: http://eepurl.com/dAtfdv