Shared economy/Collaboration in Venice Italy happens easily

G. Orah Adarah Paris
Inspiration and Collaboration
5 min readAug 24, 2017

I am finally back in Venice and I will be here for a while. It is the day after a lof of sightseeing and I am ready to get back to work. In the afternoon, one of my local friends Isaac, messages me on Facebook and that he has to leave the country. He adds that he is not sure when will be back, his mother in Jerusalem is passing away and then wants to go to the United States for a while, right after. He is leaving but tomorrow and will be taking a flight from Verona where is going to visit the city before the flight. He invites me to hang out with him and a friend. Verona is one of those few places in Italy I have yet to visit, the city where the tale of Romeo and Juliette comes from. For how much I can be spontaneous their is a limit to that too and I say no. I have to much to do. I tell him I will stop by and say good-bye right before he leaves for Verona that night. We are going to meet at the Ghetto( Jewish Quarter and no it is not Ghetto), he is going there to say good-bye to his Yeshiva study mates. I also want to pick up something sweet at the Volpe bakery for tomorrow morning, their sweet are not just Kosher but very unique and easy to digest.

from me Giovanni Volpe Bakery, Venice, 8/24/17, around 9AM

That day I moved into a new hostel and so I didn’t know my way too well and my GPS was not working. I got lost on the way to the Ghetto. A 10 minute walk turned into 37 minutes. Getting lost in Venice is not too bad, it is even encouraged since you discover cool unique things. Even so, it was not so great since I had someone waiting for me. On my way, I find this British guy trying to find his way with a map and compass. I somehow decide to ask him of all people for directions. He is friendly and also going in my direction and so helps me. While walking with this newfound friend towards the Ghetto I see my meeting walking with a newly wed Orthodox Jews. He said that he had given up on waiting at the Ghetto but all is good now. After he gives the newlywed suggestions of things to see to see he turns to an angle where his place is and has to go pack. He invites me in but I explain that I do not feel comfortable being in an apartment with just him and I know him not too well. I see someone opening the door for him and apparently he has guests and my gut feeling is that it is okay to go in. His guests, long time friends from California are setting up a few things on a table and to prepare for their new business. They sell painting and using special techniques to capture different parts of Venice. We discuss Charles selling strategy and he even gives me a few to take back to just sell myself for a generous commission. I would be glad to just have a place to stay when they go back to California.

The grand Canal, Venice from Charles Berman

Some of us eat a meal donated from some Jewish students who traveled to Venice and that had a lot of food leftover from an event the day before. Afterwards I help my friend Isaac bring his luggage to his car which is parked far away since in the actual Metropolitan area/Lagoon there are no cars. He pays for my ferry and so that I can carry his stuff. Taking the ferry was amazing. Seeing Venice from the open water is another tale. I saw both the sunset and Venice lit by the most magical lamps. The lamps reflected on the building and the water. He most beautiful thing I have ever seen and did not have the time to take pictures. Once the farry made my stop it was late and I had to go home. It took me a moment to walk straight from being on the boat that shaked. I was caring a lot of food donated to me and precious pictures. I walked about 30 minutes back home. I really did not want to know how long it was taking me. Luckily I met this really nice girl from New Jersey and together she helped me when I got lost again. The day after I tried to be productive with my business but I felt disorientated, not sure where to work and I wanted to be working with other people. I updated my status on couch-surfing to “want to have a work buddy” quickly this guy offered to be work buddies. He bought me cappuccino and then we went on his boat, he showed me around and I helped him with consultation for his own business. He gives gondola tours, teaches English and wants to create more events for Venice.

from me, on Daryl Smith boat, 8/23/17

I learned a lot of things about managing a boat, even adding gas. Everything was free and he did not even let me pay for gas. We later went back home and had some more of the food shared with me from the day before. It was even more flavorful since the rice had absorbed more of the meat flavor. I write this while siting in the Jewish Ghetto, there are many places to sit and fresh water from the fountain. I am finally feeling more grounded and productive. A restaurant near me also provided free wifi at only this particular spot, in front of a school and which is great. You never know where there are treasures.

from me, water fountain @ the Ghetto, Pigeons are bathing at 9AM, 8/24/17

--

--