4 Ways to have a Mindful Cup of Coffee

Appreciate the moment even more

Haley Whitehall
Inspiration Realm
3 min readNov 7, 2021

--

Photo by takwa abdo on Unsplash

Coffee connects us in so many ways — to each other, to our senses, and to the earth that supports the coffee trees. — Rohan Marley

Lots of people start their day with a cup of coffee. Over 1 billion people in the world drink coffee daily. I am one of those one billion people. However, it got me thinking, how many people actually appreciate their coffee? Has coffee become so mundane that we don’t even think about it? I know sometimes that I am robotic as I go about making the coffee. I have measured out the grounds and water so many times that I don’t have to think about it. I just do it.

Here are some tips on how to be mindful with your coffee.

1. Appreciate the Aroma

I still remember the Folgers Christmas commercial about the son waking up the rest of the family with the smell of brewing coffee. I do love the smell of coffee. Coffee can indeed take a while to brew. My coffee maker seems to slow down with age. Instead of impatiently waiting for the coffee to be done, take a few minutes of meditation.

Clear your mind and as you focus on your deep breathing you can breathe in the coffee aroma. Really appreciate the scent. I know manufacturers try to bottle it in candles and air fresheners, but it is never as good as the real thing. Just like with the old Folgers commercial the smell of coffee wakes me up even more than drinking the coffee itself. So this meditation might help get you ready for your day before you’ve even had your first cup!

2. Appreciate the Warmth

You thought the next one was going to be flavor, didn’t you? We will get to that eventually. But, you can also appreciate the warmth of your cup of coffee. As the weather is getting colder in the western hemisphere, I tend to appreciate my morning cup of coffee even more. Hold the coffee in your hands and feel the warmth. Many mornings my coffee starts off as too hot to drink. If that is the case for you, then watch the steam rising from your coffee. This can be mesmerizing. The steam adds even more warmth than the cup itself.

3. Appreciate the Flavor

Yes, now you can take a drink. On a cold morning, it can be easy to rush a cup of coffee to warm up from the inside out. It is also easy to drink fast to get that shot of caffeine before going to work. It might be necessary to get up 5 minutes earlier than usual to mindfully enjoy your cup of coffee. I absolutely cherish my morning coffee time.

How does the coffee taste? Is this pot of coffee stronger or weaker than normal? Did you add enough sugar or creamer? These are questions you can ask yourself to help you appreciate the flavor. If we are in a hurry to drink our coffee we might not even pay attention to subtle differences. If you drink flavored creamer you can ask yourself which flavor you would like to try next. The seasonal flavors are in the stores now. I absolutely love peppermint creamer.

4. Appreciate the Process

Most of the time we don’t think about what goes into the food and drink we consume. The coffee had to be grown and harvested. Do you know where your coffee originated? It is okay if you don’t. But, take a second to appreciate the coffee trees and the farmers. Appreciate all the other workers that had a hand in the production of the coffee and helped it get to your house. We live in a global economy and that is something itself to marvel at and appreciate.

In Closing

Hopefully, these four tips will get you thinking more about your daily cup of coffee. This can also be applied to tea if you are a tea drinker. We do so many things daily without stopping to think about them. Try to appreciate the little things in your day like a hot cup of coffee. Gratitude has a way of brightening each day. Starting the day with mindful appreciation is even better than that hot beverage. Of course, the two together can be a winning combination.

--

--

Haley Whitehall
Inspiration Realm

I’m an author, grief life coach, and creative spirit. After my mom & grandparents died, I went on a healing journey. Now I want to help others heal their grief.