Controlling anger before it controls you.

Lu Skerdoo
Inspiration Realm
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2024

--

My coloring of “Good morning God! This is Your day; I am Your child. Show me Your way.”

Proverbs 16:32 “He who is slow to anger is better than the mighty; and he who rules his spirit than he who takes a city.”

In Joyce Meyer’s devotional, I recently read about how past abuse can cause us to respond to others in a self-protective and oftentimes angry way.

This explains why some days I feel like I’m “spring-loaded”.

And I sometimes seem to easily jump to the wrong conclusions…

Photo of someone jumping by Kid Circus on Unsplash

Am I alone in this?

But perhaps it's the long-ago shadow of some negative abuse I received in childhood that sometimes rears its ugly head.

Even now harsh words spoken, or someone’s tone of voice can set off the “fight or flight” mode inside my head.

But I know that God can and will soften my sudden responses if I turn them over to Him.

Ephesians 4:26–27 “Be angry and do not sin. Let not the sun go down on your wrath, nor give place to the devil.”

Sometimes this triggered mode sends…

--

--

Lu Skerdoo
Inspiration Realm

Let not your ❤️be troubled. I am Happy to be in the Chicken Soup for the Soul Book ~Miracles and the unexplainable~❤️😊