Is Being an Entrepreneur Right for You?

Flora Sage
Inspirational Coaching
5 min readJul 29, 2015

By Flora Sage

There seems to be a trend nowadays to be the next big Entrepreneur. To make your millions in the coaching industry. Launch products every few months and then spend months in some exotic destination celebrating the tens of thousands of dollars you rake in each month with passive income.

But when this doesn’t happen it throws you into a tailspin.

As an Entreprenure you want to change lives with your product, coaching or services. I get it! But with running your own business comes all the things you don’t see on the surface;

  • Working long hours each and every week
  • Putting in a good 5 to 10 years before reaping the benefits of our work
  • Speaking (and Coaching) for free to learn the ropes
  • Website creation (and maintenance)
  • Pulling together and evaluating monthly financials
  • Marketing
  • Product/program creation
  • Launching
  • Social media
  • Networking
  • Team meetings
  • Membership sites…

You get the idea.

Just because you’re called to do great work, does it REALLY mean you have to work for yourself?

Along with the trending “next big thing” idea there also seems to be a growing stigma around “Working for the man” or in Corporate America. Punching the clock day in and day out…..

What’s so bad about that?

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had my fair share of corporate gigs, none of which I loved or hated. They were a job to put food on the table and pay rent. While working these jobs I always held a vision of someday helping someone else simplify their life. To help empower their present to create a better future.

As a simplification & business coach my job is to help spiritual entrepreneurs (mainly coaches) simplify their business and life to make their job easier and more susinct. However, at the slightest bump in the road, so many people get thrown off their game and go into a tailspin of judgement, comparison, guilt, self-blame and the like. They feel if they can’t have it all now, something must be wrong with them.

Just because you want to change the world with your work doesn’t mean you have to work for yourself.

Not everyone is cut out for the life of an Entrepreneur.

Raised by serial Entreprenures I witnessed the blood, sweat and tears that went into owning, running and having a business. But that didn’t stop me.

Starting my business in 1997, I worked behind the scenes to learn the ropes and in 2009, I finally went online. Once I decided to make this my full time gig (December of 2009) I worked two full time job (my corproate gig and this one) for over two years before I was able to quit my day job (February 2012).

Quitting my day job in a systematic and sustainable way, not just quitting hoping that “The Universe will provide”, was the only option I saw to really make it as an Entrepreneur.

Long days and long hours is how I got to where I am today. Dedication and persistence drove me forward because I believed in my mission and my purpose on this Earth. No bump ever threw me off my game. I picked myself up and continued on. When asked why I do what I do I didn’t skip a beat! I began explaining in a very animated and inspired way about my calling.

For years I’ve witnessed Entrepreneurs quitting their perfectly good day jobs, that are providing for their basic needs, in hopes clients will fall in their lap. When faced with marketing themselves and putting themselves out there to make their goals a reality they freeze in panic and self-doubt.

When asked why they do what they do, the answers come from a place of uncertainty and confusion not passion and excitement.

If you are someone who is trying to make it as an Entrepreneur, or is thinking about it. I have a few questions for you:

  • Why do you want to do the work you do?
  • Are you willing to put in the time and effort for years with little or no recognition of your work?
  • Are you willing to do your work for free at times to build your chops in your industry?
  • Are you willing to do whatever it takes to make your dream a reality?
  • Are you willing to ask for help in the areas not within your expertise? ie… your company finances, graphic design, web design, marketing etc…
  • When creating something and it doesn’t work out, what is your response?
  • Do you see others in your field as competitors or colleagues?
  • Are you willing to hire a coach or mentor to help you raise the bar you’ve set for yourself and your business? Or, do you feel you are beyond coaching and have everything figured out?
  • Does the thought of continuing to take classes or read books in your niche, to deepen your knowledge base, excite you or bring in a sense of dread or obligation?

Pay attention to your answers and what your reactions are to them. If you got frustrated, pissed off, emotional, or anything other than motivated as hell, I have one last question for you:

  • What would it feel like to show up to an established business, do what you do best, and then go home, leaving the other stuff for the owner of the business to handle?

If reading this last question brings you some level of relief I would recommend you explore this further.

Just because being an Entrepreneur is the Hot thing to do now, does not mean it is the Best thing for you.

Just because you Can be an Entrepreneur doesn’t mean you Have to be.

Check out Flora’s weekly Coaching videos, released every Tuesday by Clicking Here!

Four time author and mentor, Flora Sage helps Spiritual Entrepreneurs simplify, streamline and monetize their business by teaching them simple techniques that create massive results. Since 1997, she has been described as a “Maverick in Modern Spirituality” by questioning the status quo and redefining what success and spiritualism looks like in the modern world. Flora’s multi-faceted teaching platform has helped thousands of clients to achieve their unique version of success. Flora’s dynamic teaching methods provide a proven blueprint and framework for a thriving Professional practice and a life filled with simplicity. In 2010 Flora opened the FloraSage Therapies Institute as a hub for the classes and programs she creates for her clients. FloraSage.com

--

--

Flora Sage
Inspirational Coaching

Helping Women Biz Owners make more money by helping them clarify their message! Business Mentor & Financial Coach.