Interview with Photographer and Author George Slade

Cendrine Marrouat
Inspirational Creativity
6 min readApr 10, 2023

--

George Slade — Photo courtesy of guest

Today, I am excited to spotlight George Slade.

George Slade was born in St. Paul, Minnesota in the early 1960s and lives in Minneapolis. He is a widely published author, online and in print, on matters related to photography. He advises photographers on project development and editing and has curated many exhibitions in roles as Artistic Director and Program Director at visual arts organizations in the Twin Cities and Boston. He earned his BA at Yale University with a major in American Studies, and has a MA in Organizational Leadership from St. Catherine University in St. Paul.

George’s first book, titled My Father’s Shirts, was published in 2019.

Cendrine Marrouat: Hello George! How did you get started as a photographer and writer? Any specific story?

George Slade: I think my father’s slideshows from trips he took with my mother had a big impact on my way of seeing the world. He was not a great photographer but he was earnest and interested in his subject matter, especially the people he was traveling with, so his verbal travelog conveyed a sense of importance and friendly dedication to me. I was a young teenager during that time.

Later in my teens I discovered Ansel Adams, whose grand photographs quickly led me into awareness of others who were…

--

--

Cendrine Marrouat
Inspirational Creativity

Writer & author, photographer, co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy, and (co-)creator of literary forms. https://creativeramblings.com.