Why I Reject Hustle Culture and Embrace a Different Path?

Is it worth the potential cost?

Zafar Siddiqui
Inspiration by Zafar
5 min readFeb 19, 2023

--

Young confident redhead woman standing inside a bright, airy office with folded arms smiling at the camera. Stockfour/Canva.
Young confident redhead woman standing inside a bright, airy office with folded arms smiling at the camera. Stockfour/Canva.

The mainstream culture, the media, and even our well-meaning friends and family have sold us a lie.

The lie perpetuates the idea that to achieve success, happiness, and fulfillment in life, you must always hustle, grind, and burn the candle at both ends.

Hustle culture has become so ingrained in our society that we often perceive it as an essential ingredient for achieving success.

Sometimes the greatest progress comes not from pushing harder but from stepping back, reflecting, and finding a more sustainable path.

I found myself burning out, feeling overwhelmed, and on the verge of giving up on my dreams.

The true costs of hustle culture became clear at that point.

I had been pushing myself to the brink, working long hours, and sacrificing my health and well-being in the name of success.

But at what point does success become meaningless if we’ve lost ourselves in the process?

I don’t believe in hustle culture, and I don’t think you should either.

I will share my journey of how I came to realize the drawbacks of hustle culture.

I’ll also discuss the dangers of this culture.

I’ll share an alternative approach to prioritizing self-care while achieving a successful career.

So grab a cup of coffee, sit back, and dive into this critical topic.

Explanation of hustle culture and its impact.

Hustle culture glorifies hard work, long hours, and constant productivity. It is a pervasive mindset in modern society.

We’re often told that we must work long hours, push ourselves to the brink, and never let up to succeed and find fulfillment.

A brown-headed woman in a V-neck shirt is playing with her hair. Karolina Grabowska/Canva.
A brown-headed woman in a V-neck shirt is playing with her hair. Karolina Grabowska/Canva.

People boast about their 16-hour workdays and ability to function on a few hours of sleep.

Yet, hustle culture comes with significant risks. It can lead to burnout, chronic stress, and physical and mental health problems.

It can also damage relationships and limit opportunities for self-reflection and personal growth.

Personal experience with hustle culture.

I’m no stranger to hustle culture.

For years, I followed the advice of those who preached its benefits.

I worked long hours, took on more projects than I could handle, and put my health and well-being on the back burner.

As a result, I felt tired, stressed, and on the verge of burnout.

I neglected my relationships and felt like I had lost sight of who I was and what was important to me.

It wasn’t until I hit rock bottom that I realized that hustle culture was not the answer.

I started taking care of myself and saw a quick improvement in my mental and physical health.

I was also able to be more productive and creative in my work.

True success is not reckoned by how much we can hustle, but by how much we can truly live.

The Dangers of Hustle Culture

A. Physical and mental health risks.

The dangers of hustle culture extend beyond mere tiredness or stress.

It can lead to significant physical and mental health risks.

The pressure of constant work can cause anxiety and depression.

And neglecting self-care can lead to health problems like heart disease, obesity, and high blood pressure.

Overworking can lead to chronic pain. It weakens the immune system and increases susceptibility to illness and infection.

B. Neglecting personal relationships.

Neglecting family and friends can lead to isolation, loneliness, and a lack of support.

Relationships with partners can suffer, leading to conflict and resentment.

The constant focus on work can also impact our ability to form new relationships and find a sense of community.

C. Decreased productivity and creativity.

Hustle culture is often marketed as a productivity booster but can decrease productivity.

Overworking can harm productivity and creativity. We need to be more energized and motivated to solve problems or develop new ideas.

The constant pressure to be productive can also make us feel like we always play catch-up instead of taking the time to focus and proper planning.

D. Risk of burnout and disillusionment with life.

The most significant danger of hustle culture is the risk of burnout and disillusionment with life.

When we focus on work and productivity, we can lose sight of the things that give our lives meaning, such as hobbies, passions, and relationships.

We can become disconnected from our values and purpose, creating a sense of emptiness and disillusionment.

Burnout, in turn, can lead to a loss of motivation, decreased performance, and even depression.

What to Do Instead?

A. Prioritize self-care.

Since I rejected the hustle culture, I have prioritized my self-care above everything else.

I understand that taking care of myself is not a luxury but a necessity.

Some helpful self-care practices include meditation, journaling, exercise, and spending time in nature. These activities help me reduce stress and increase my well-being.

Monochrome Black White Modern Self Care Quote saying, “forgive myself because I deserve to be happy,” along with a drawing of a woman with flowers and leaves on her head. Image from Canva.
Monochrome Black White Modern Self Care Quote saying, “forgive myself because I deserve to be happy,” along with a drawing of a woman with flowers and leaves on her head. One Line/Canva.

Not only does self-care improve my physical and mental health, but it also has a positive impact on my productivity and creativity.

When I take the time to care for myself, I can better focus on my work and produce higher-quality output.

B. Work smarter, not harder.

It’s another approach I’ve adopted.

Instead of putting in long hours and pushing myself to the brink, I prioritize my time and focus on the most critical tasks.

To manage my time, I use the Pomodoro Technique and concentrate on tasks based on their level of importance and urgency.

I’ve also learned to delegate and outsource tasks to others, which has allowed me to free up time for more important things.

C. Redefining success.

I’ve learned to redefine what success means to me.

I now focus on fulfillment and well-being over external accomplishments like wealth or career status.

I establish boundaries and expectations for myself and my work.

When we redefine success as a journey towards personal growth and self-discovery, we unlock a world of possibility and fulfillment.”

The dangers of hustle culture are significant, and it’s essential to recognize them to avoid overwork and burnout.

To prioritize self-care and well-being, you can achieve exercise, mindfulness, and healthy habits.

Taking care of ourselves can improve our productivity, creativity, and quality of life.

Working smarter, not harder, is another integral approach that can help us avoid the risks of hustle culture.

You can use effective time management, prioritization, delegation, and outsourcing strategies.

And you don’t have to sacrifice your well-being or relationships at all.

Redefining success and shifting your focus to fulfillment and well-being is crucial.

Establish clear boundaries and expectations for yourself and others, and reject the idea that you can only succeed through overworking and burnout.

I encourage you to consider your relationship with hustle culture and whether it’s positively serving them.

--

--

Zafar Siddiqui
Inspiration by Zafar

Trying to become my own voice and build something huge.