Photo by Ethan Hu on Unsplash

Possessed By Possessions

Do Your Things Own You?

Charlene Fate
Published in
1 min readSep 1, 2019

--

Everywhere I turn I am told to pray for and manifest an abundant life. Having an abundance of something means having more than enough. They preach that if you just ask and believe you will receive your heart’s desire.

So, we start collecting. Cars, clothes, shoes, appliances, books, jewelry, and electronics are just a few of the things we overstuff our living spaces with. Now we need more space. We need more.

Soon these things are in control. We feel the need to maintain and protect them. Before we know it we are chained to the material items. We become trapped in jobs to continue to keep them and to have the ability to buy more.

We no longer own our things, our things own us. Having my needs met are all I ask for. I do not need more than enough. I don’t want more than enough.

Matthew 6:25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?

--

--