What If the Purpose is to Be Love?

at the end of the day, did I love those around me?

Rachella Angel Page
Inspire 250
2 min readSep 24, 2020

--

Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

I want to be love. Not for selfish gain or personal recognition. It’s just that I’m at a point where I’m tired of living for myself. Tired of the spending time in that vacuum being closed in by walls focused on my own agenda.

It’s like this: eventually, you realize that you have no effect. You can’t see the hurting or the lonely. If life is a chessboard, you can’t see past square one. You can’t see what is going on around you. From this place, you can’t reach out to help anyone or to affect anyone. You can’t realize the desperate need in even the ones you love.

I don’t want that life anymore. I want to be love to those around me. I want to bring a light. I’ve slipped into the population me crowd due to prior hurt and cuts on my soul. I’ve licked those wounds long enough.

Starting today, I want to be more selfless. To help those around me who really need me. I want to get past the “poor me” mentality and reach out.

Reaching out helps our mental health in that we don’t concentrate on ourselves so much. When we give to others, we receive back. However, what if we chose a purer type of love with no expectations? What would that look like?

It would look like sacrificing an agenda. It would look like pushing our motives to the back burner. It would look like being a safe place for others. It would look like influencing and maybe starting a revolution of those who are willing to dive in and 100% give.

I know the qualities are not always easy. Patience, kindness, humility, forgiveness. However, I want to work to get there. To make a deep impact and to reach beyond the population me agenda.

--

--

Rachella Angel Page
Inspire 250

Lifestyle and creative non-fiction writer. Wife. Momma of two dogs: Maxwell and Lady. Obsessed with road trips, poetry and Kickstart. IG: @pagesofrachella