THE FRIDAY PRAYER SPACE

Creating Altars and Shrines

Using words isn’t the only way to pray

MaryClare StFrancis, M.A.
Inspire, Believe, Grow
7 min readOct 28, 2022

--

this is the new altar I set on 18 October 2022

OOne of my favorite things to do is set out altars. I often change them to coincide with the liturgical season, or sometimes I’m changing it up because I feel led to to celebrate something in my spiritual life, sometimes it’s an act of contrition.

Almost any surface can be used to set out altars and shrines, the space in this picture is the top of a bookshelf. To create altars, it just requires a bit of creativity and the collecting of items over time.

Over the years I’ve collected icons, containers, picture frames, and many other things.

Below you can see my shrine to Mother Mary. I have a more close up picture that you can see, and I’ll explain how I put it together. For this shrine, I collected some statues of Mary from the thrift store, the Mary on the blue square background was actually found at the Dollar Tree. I don’t generally buy mass produced items but this was beautiful and spoke to me, so it was an exception.

Under the blue is a smaller, framed picture that was one of my Etsy buys, and it’s…

--

--