SERMONS IN ART

Let’s Look at “The Tears of St Peter”

An interesting insight into the psyche of the disciple

Paul Walker
Inspire, Believe, Grow
6 min readJul 28, 2024

--

This image and the others on this post are in the public domain

When I visit a city for the first time, the local Art Gallery is the first place I want to schedule into my diary.

My favourite is the National Gallery in London. I can easily spend a whole day there and never get even slightly bored.

I enjoy looking at paintings because they allow me to hold a mirror up to my everyday life. They give me a space to think and reflect on my experiences. They also provide me with an opportunity to explore spiritual ideas prayerfully.

Let’s have a look at an example. Here is El Greco’s “The Tears of St Peter”

This evocative painting dates from 1585 by a man called Domenikos Theotokopoulos. Who? I hear you ask. He was a Greek artist who is much more commonly known as “El Greco” (meaning, The Greek). It is now in the Toledo Museum in Spain.

El Greco was a Spanish painter, sculptor, and architect of the Renaissance. He is best known for his religious paintings, which include The Adoration of the Magi and The Disrobing of

--

--

Paul Walker
Inspire, Believe, Grow

Spiritual traveler, Prog Rock aficionado, Husband, Dad, Retired Anglican Priest figuring out what ‘retirement’ means.