Seven Interesting Facts About John Wesley on the Anniversary of His Spiritual Renewal

May 24th is the day the church commemorates the Wesleys.

Paul Walker
Inspire, Believe, Grow

--

Created in Canva

On the evening of May 24th 1738, a heavy-hearted John Wesley attended a prayer meeting at Aldersgate, London.

It was at this meeting, as he listened to a reading of Paul’s letter to the Romans, he had the spiritual experience he later described thus:

About a quarter before nine, while he was describing the change which God works in the heart through faith in Christ, I felt my heart strangely warmed. I felt I did trust in Christ, Christ alone, for salvation, and an assurance was given me that He had taken away my sins, even mine, and saved me from the law of sin and death.

Wesley had been wandering in a spiritual wilderness until this time. He had been an Anglican priest for many years but was still unsure of his calling. Wesley became an evangelist because of his “warmed heart.” The flame that was kindled on Aldersgate Street marked the start of his God-given mission.

Here are seven intriguing facts about John Wesley to commemorate his life-changing experience.

1. He was born into a massive family.

--

--

Paul Walker
Inspire, Believe, Grow

Spiritual traveler, Prog Rock aficionado, Husband, Dad, Retired Anglican Priest figuring out what ‘retirement’ means.