Simple Repentance? — 7 Clear Steps

How uncomplicated the impossible can be!

Katharine Trauger
5 min readSep 15, 2022
Black background. Adult finger shaming small child.
Photo by Artyom Kabajev on Unsplash

You’ve tried

It’s a lost cause. You say sorry. You pay restitution. You weep, mourn, and wail. Nothing is working. You tell friends you won’t do it again. They say, “Sure.” Of course, they don’t believe you.

You read the Bible and there is no way out. You have to repent. You try to repent. You fail to repent. It seems to be no use. You want so much to give up.

Some will tell you that you won’t ever change until you want to. Some will tell you that you have to hit rock bottom before you will stop. Graveyards are full of folks who listened to that lie. And you know the words you read here are true. So far.

Repentance is not hard

It’s just impossible.

Look at this section of the Bible where a Godly man is saying that very thing:

I am carnal, sold under sin. For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do.

If, then, I do what I will not to do, I agree with the law that it is good. But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.

For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good…

--

--

Katharine Trauger

Jesus lover. Professional Mom. Writer, Speaker, Counselor. Contest winner. Woods dweller. Scratch cook. TheConqueringMom.com . Content completely A.I. free.