THE SUNDAY SOAPBOX

“When We’re Dead, You Can Do What You Want!”

These words were said to me, exactly as written, by a member of my congregation.

Revd Kevin Barnard
Inspire, Believe, Grow

--

“Let’s Change” sign on a building
Photo by Brad Starkey on Unsplash

There seems to be a belief that vicars want to change everything, but their congregations do not want anything to change.

In my experience, this is true. Well, certainly the last bit...

Let me give you an example:

The 8.00 am Communion Service

Many churches seem to have an 8.00 am Communion service on a Sunday.

It usually seems to be a “traditional language” service, where the vicar will always robe and not interrupt the liturgy with a sermon that’s more than a few minutes long! Certainly, there will be no modern music!

It seems to be a quid pro quo for allowing the later Sunday service to use words, songs, and expressions of worship that younger generations find more accessible.

But there was a problem with the 8 am service in my church:

The church was old and had steps leading up to the communion rail. As you may have guessed, the congregation was elderly, and a number were struggling more and more with these steps.

One lady was in an electric wheelchair and had to drive around the church at the appropriate point in the service to a place where I could reach over to her (just) to give her communion.

So I made a change.

If any vicars are reading this, then I am sure that sentence caused a sharp intake of breath!

My Intentions Were Good…

I moved the service to a side chapel so that no one had steps to negotiate and the lady in the wheelchair could be with everyone else.

Nothing else changed.

…But There Were Complaints

As I said, my intentions were good. I explained my reasons. This change was not actually for my benefit; in fact, it was more work for me to set up the side chapel and move everything back for the main service.

But did I mention the side chapel had chairs rather than pews?

You would think I had suggested that we all sit on sofas and I would preside in a Hawaiian shirt whilst playing the banjo; such was the strength of the reaction.

I confess I found it hard not to laugh at some of the responses.

For example, over a few weeks, some people moved to sit further and further back until they were outside the chapel looking in from the main body of the church. One lady sat in her original pew in the empty nave; I could see her out of the corner of my eye standing and sitting at the right time.

They came into the chapel for communion (with no steps in the way) at the appropriate time but then went back to the pews.

Their pews.

But the complaints kept coming, and, in the end, I gave up. We went back to the original location.

So what was going on?

Why do people hate change?

I understand that when life around us changes, it is not always a good thing. As we get older, those around us retire. We retire and lose the structure that comes with the familiar patterns of daily work. Our health might fail. Family may move away. Friends die, which reminds us of our own mortality.

Change can be scary.

The unknown seems to make us anxious and fearful. We don’t like it when we’re reminded we are not in control of all the circumstances around us.

When all around seems to crumble, it might be the traditions of the church, the familiar words and the repeated patterns of a lifetime that bring comfort.

But there is a challenge here for us all:

Where do we look for our security?

There are many verses in the Bible I could quote, but one from Proverbs seems appropriate.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
Proverbs 3: 5 (NIKUK)

Is our trust in God, or is our trust in the familiarity of the way we worship Him?

God calls us to trust in Him, not in the things around us or even in the way in which we have approached Him throughout our lives. These things can change, even if we don’t want them to. Even if we do everything in our power to keep such things from changing, they will still change.

But we have a God who does not change. A God who knows our insecurities. A God who knows our fears. A God who is patient with us. A God who loves us consistently.

If we are wise, we put our trust in Him and not in man-made practices or traditions. We certainly should not put our trust in some vicar, even if he is trying his best!

Scripture taken from the Holy Bible, New International Version® Anglicized, NIV® Copyright © 1979, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.® Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

Inspire Believe Grow is an exciting new space for faith-based content on Medium. Punchy. Insightful. Challenging. A breath of fresh air when engaging in the Christian journey.

Don’t miss DAILY content on Inspire, Believe, Grow. Click the banner below and visit the homepage for the publication. You can also learn about how YOU can contribute stories!

Please consider clicking the "follow publication" button--help build our following.

--

--