3 Inspiring Inventions at CES Las Vegas

Alt Title: Why Eureka Park at the Consumer Electronics Show is one of the most exciting places on earth

Matthew Faraci
InspireBuzz
4 min readJan 15, 2019

--

A smart backpack with a camera and sensors inside, a suitcase that doubles as an electric scooter, a sleek device that doubles the battery of your Mac and has all of the connections Apple robbed from you, and a do-it-yourself home security system that makes your home 100% secure in less than 23 minutes…where else could you find this but at Eureka Park?

I am an innovation addict, like so many of you. I love inspiration, passion, and creativity coming together to make something awesome.

That’s why it was a privilege to be at CES this year.

Every January, you follow CES, the massive Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas, among the largest trade shows in the (known) galaxy.

Ok, maybe you don’t know you are following CES. Trust me, you are.

About this time of year, the media goes gaa gaa over the latest innovations from big tech. This year it was a TV that is collapsible, or juggernaut Amazon’s Alexa technologies that can run your life. All great stories, all exciting stuff to be sure.

If you want to read about those, read no further.

I’m here to talk about the little guys.

This year was my first opportunity to attend and cover the show.

You have to understand, this thing is MASSIVE. It spans six Las Vegas-sized mega buildings. To get from place to place, you have to drive or take a shuttle…it is no small feat. For my part, I ended up spending time in a special section called Eureka Park, known to experienced hands at the show as CES for Startups. Officially, CES says “CES is the global stage for startups where new ideas are funded, new partnerships are formed and new acquisitions happen. Eureka Park™. The next big thing could be you!”

In essence, it’s an innovation show. A place where consumers, investors, and inventors converge to move projects forward.

I was like the proverbial kid in the candy store, and here are the three things that caught my imagination the most, with 3,422 honorable mentions I’ll leave out for the sake of brevity.

COVE SECURITY

Like you, I’ve always wanted a home security system and I don’t feel quite safe without one. I love that feeling when I’m away from home and I can see on the app that it’s locked and monitored. Heck, I used to have one of those dinosaur systems from ADT. I hated the monthly contracts, the holes in my wall, and the fact that I had to call a repair guy to come fix it. A Utah startup called Cove Security knows how I feel, so they decided to fix that problem through innovation.

Cove basically figured out how to ditch all of the stuff from security I hate, include all of the stuff that I love, give me the capacity to set it up in 23 minutes, and do it all for a low monthly price with no contract.

Now that is a solution. They were the buzz of Eureka Park, in fact I’d have to say I’m not the first person to point this out. The venerable Las Vegas Sun also found Cove to be one of their top five finds.

LINE

I love you Apple, but darn it your batteries last five seconds and you stole all of the plugins that I need for my stuff. Enter Line Dock, they have an incredibly sleek, cool solution and it won’t cost you an arm and a leg.

LUMZAG

A smart backpack? Yes, it’s a thing.

LUMZAG was funded on kickstarter and has a camera in the back, sensors inside, a Bluetooth connection, battery power, and event lights in various compartments.

Who would have thought of such an innovation right?

THAT’S WHY I WAS INSPIRED BY EUREKA PARK

Eureka Park is this magical place where innovation is on display, and you can buy it, fund it, get involved with it, touch it, talk about it, look at it, and breathe it all in. Whether you need to go for business or you just love tech, I can’t recommend it enough.

See you next year.

--

--

Matthew Faraci
InspireBuzz

Founder of Inspire Buzz, Executive Producer of The Chosen, Host of Frankly Faraci on Dove Channel