A different frame of mind.

Featuring magical moments from Morocco, Macedonia and London.

--

This month my son Dylan shares some images that help to convey the naturally calm state that BreatheSync hope to guide more and more people to experience and come back to more often. Here is a short interview with him:

Why did you agree to the collaboration?

A lot of my photography focuses on cities and people, so curating something natural and calming appealed to me as a challenge. Every photographer who has featured on BreatheSync so far has brought their own style, yet there is a binding character that I wanted to achieve.

How did you approach it?

There were some images from a recent trip to Morocco that immediately sprung to mind, so that’s where I started. For me, it’s always a matter of trial and error. I envisaged the 3x5 Instagram grid and played around with a collection of 30 or so images until I was happy.

How does your relationship with breathing affect your creative work?

If you’re shooting in low-light, without flash, pushing your camera to the limit, you sometimes have to hold your breath to keep your body still, so there’s no camera-shake. That is literally how breathing affects my creative work. Outside of that, breathing is essential for achieving a calm headspace in the editing process.

It’s hard to focus when you’re tense.

Do you have any favorite images that were featured and why?

I don’t have any favourites, however I prefer the more subversive images, where you don’t really feel like you’re looking at a photograph.

Any advice for budding photographers or creatives?

Don’t dismiss your older work. When you give things time you can return to them with a different frame of mind.

Thank you Dylan. If you are inspired to breathe the world better with words and images, please get in touch.

--

--