Using a Learning Disability to Help Students Overcome Barriers

Celebrating the Art of Teaching, One Educator at a Time

McGraw Hill
Inspired Ideas
3 min readDec 4, 2023

--

We’ve been publishing educator stories through our guest blogging program, The Art of Teaching, for over seven years now. Educators from all over the country (even the world) have shared their perspectives on what makes teaching so deeply fulfilling despite the seemingly never-ending challenges.

Now, we want to pause a moment and celebrate them individually. Every one of these educators and bloggers carries a unique story that makes teaching a true art form. We’re sitting down with them to find out what brought them to teaching and how they refine their practice.

Today, we spoke with Stephanie Howell, a former tech coach in Ohio.

What was your path to your current role as an educator?

In second grade, I was diagnosed with a learning disability. I wanted nothing to do with school, but in high school, I started volunteering in our classroom with mild to severe disabilities. I created some great friendships and found my passion for helping individuals reach their full potential. I realized I could use my learning disability to help students overcome their learning barriers. I then pursued a degree in special education and general education. During my first year of teaching, we had an iPad cart, and I started to find all the accessibility features and how they could help me teach. I then moved into instructional technology coaching. This path eventually led me to become a Teacher Success Champion at Kami, where I continue to grow as an educator.

Can you tell us about a time you felt you made a big difference for a student (or, another teacher)?

One memorable instance was when I assisted an entire building that was tech-resistant to use and get excited about using technology. As an instructional coach, it took a lot of time to build relationships and support educators. I went in with the attitude, how can I help? Witnessing the positive change reinforced my belief that technology in the right hands of our teachers can help assist them in creating different personalized learning experiences.

What do you do to refine and improve your practice?

Continuous improvement is at the heart of effective teaching. I regularly engage in listening to podcasts, collaborating with educators, attending conferences, and sharing on social media to stay updated with the latest educational strategies. Reflecting on my teaching methods and seeking feedback from peers are integral parts of my refinement process.

What does the art of teaching mean to you?

The art of teaching to me is the ability to take your knowledge about a student and inspire curiosity and creativity. It involves adapting to a multisensory approach to learning, fostering a positive and inclusive environment, and instilling a lifelong love for learning in every student.

--

--

McGraw Hill
Inspired Ideas

Helping educators and students find their path to what’s possible. No matter where the starting point may be.