Favourites & Things: With Moana Williams

Corrine O’Connell
Inspired Wild
Published in
3 min readJan 19, 2019

Moana Williams is the owner and Jack-of-All-Trades at BodyFix Gym in Christchurch, New Zealand. An incredibly humble person and always active behind the scenes, Moana has a huge passion for helping people and her mission at BodyFix is to help people live healthier lifestyles for both mental and physical well being.

Favourite thing to cook:
M:
To cook? Oh God. I don’t mind cooking eggs on toast. If you’re on the closed BodyFix Nutrition page you’ll see that eggs and crumpets are pretty much where it’s at with me. So… I’m not bad, I’m pretty good at cooking French Toast, but otherwise… It pains me having to cook to be fair. I hate it.

Favourite scary movie:
M:
It would have to be a Stephen King one. I can’t quite think which one is the scariest, though they’re all pretty bad.

Favourite place to go with family:
M:
Well normally Hagley Park is pretty cool. We normally go and take the scooter or bike or take the dogs for a walk. It’s not too bad, it’s quite good. And it is really pretty around there.

Which of the four seasons do you like the best?
M:
It would have to be summer.

What skill would you like to learn and why?
M:
Do you know I’d like to learn — you know do a Toastmasters. Public Speaking… like I’m okay, but I’m not overly great, I say ‘Umm’ a lot, so I would like to spend a bit of time going to Toastmasters and learning to public speak a bit better.

Favourite subject at school?
M: PE.

Favourite Quote:
M:
I will leave this world a better place.

Best piece of advice you’ve been given?
M:
Go with your gut instinct and follow your heart.

Who is someone you admire?
M:
I guess there will always be two people that I really admire and that would be my Mum and my Dad. I guess their work ethic… was pretty frickin awesome. Real down to earth people, they always worked for everything they had. And that’s where we get our upbringing from you know? That’s where your values stem from.

What is something you are excited about in 2019?
M:
The new gym. And just I guess a new opportunity for us as a club, to be you know, to be better. We’ve done super well since we’ve been here, far out we’ve been here for eight years, but it’s always nice knowing what we’ve got to look forward to.

Next Week: I sat down with Moana for a chat about how she has managed to combine her passion and core values with her business and what drives her motivation to help others. You can find out more about BodyFix Gym on their website

Catch up with last months interview with adventuring twins Jaimie and Alex O’Hagan:

--

--