5 Lesser-Known Benefits of Speaking Your Truth

Talking to a professional is one of the best investments you can make

Scott Stockdale
Inspired Writer

--

Photo by Alex Green from Pexels

“It’s okay to feel nervous. Start whenever you’re ready.”

I breathed in the aromas and looked around the room. The softness of the furnishings. The hazy light of candles.

“I don’t know who my dad is,” I stumbled, “and I think it’s affecting my relationships.”

The words tasted uncomfortable.

She sat there, writing on her clipboard. No emotion on her face. It wasn’t unkind, though.

She looked up for me to continue.

I went on to tell her things I’d never told anyone. Not knowing my dad. Feeling discomfort in groups. Being afraid of love. Once the doors opened, I rambled on and on.

By the end of the session, I knew I’d found the therapist I wanted to work with.

We continued for twelve weeks. This was in the second half of 2019. Since then, I’ve been in touch with my biological dad and have been dating a fellow writer.

Here are five lesser-known benefits of speaking your truth, and why I believe working with a therapist is one of the best investments you can make.

#1: Spitting out poison can be…

--

--