Creative Nonfiction Contest Finalist

Airport: A Place Where Time Flies

What does my love for the airports tell me about myself?

Mehboob Khan
Inspired Writer
Published in
4 min readDec 22, 2020

--

Photo by Suganth on Unsplash

Have you ever felt satisfied and restless at the same time?

Say right after you cracked a tough interview. You might be satisfied because you got the job, but you will also be restless to celebrate.

Similarly, a melange of emotions stirs within me every time I am at the airport. I feel satisfied because I am traveling to a new place, leaving behind all the worries. Restless, because one, the thought of missing the flight keeps me on my toes. Second, I love to scan the whole place, relish the imposing architecture, buy a new book, watch the planes take off, devour an expensive cup of coffee, and talk to strangers. It’s the perfect artist’s date for me. I feel free, nimble, and full of life. Like a lamb let loose on a grassy knoll.

Airports are like a second home for me. I travel to some place every three months. It might be an official trip or a casual vacation. But whatever be the destination or the nature of my errand, I am always excited at the prospect of sitting amid the hubbub of the airport, waiting for my flight; Singing with a group of hippies playing guitar, watching business executives in their expensive suits working on…

--

--

Mehboob Khan
Inspired Writer

Writing about the economics of new-age tech. Subscribe to my newsletter https://techtonik.substack.com/