How To Write An Engaging Speech

It’s easier than you think

Ashley Noel
Inspired Writer
4 min readOct 11, 2020

--

Sponsored Images iStock Pixabay

What is the most important element to giving a mind blowing speech? Is it the topic… the information imparted? Or perhaps it’s the presentation… the actions and hand gestures used? Or could it be vocal variety, how speaker expresses themself?

Let me tell you. To deliver a successful speech, one has to bring all these elements to the table. I call it the Laurel and Hardy effect. ‘What,’ you ask? Let me explain. On their own both Laurel and Hardy were funny men, but when they performed together, they were magic. As public speakers we need to find the Laurel and Hardy inside ourselves. By pooling all our skills into our presentations we too can find our magic.

Before I go on, I’d like to give some background information about myself. I am not a professional speaker, but I was a member of Toastmasters for ten years. It was a great experience, not only did I improve my speaking skills, I also met a great bunch of people along the way. Over the last twenty years or so I have also had the opportunity to practice my public speaking skills through my profession in the The Early Childhood sector.

I want to share my public speaking journey, from terrified to confident, and also offer advice on what makes a speech great so you can enjoy public speaking too!

Control and Confidence

When I first started at Toastmasters I was terrified. I came to the lectern, eyes wide, red in the face, knees shaking. I fumbled lines, repeated sentences, apologised, rushed what I was saying. At the time I had no confidence…. I was unable to take control because I was scared of looking and sounding foolish. With practice however my confidence grew. After a while I began enjoying the experience. I enjoyed owning the stage and having people listening to what I was saying. Confidence in public speaking isn’t something you buy… it comes with practice and perseverance.

Prepare

To deliver the killer speech, you actually have to write the killer speech. That means sitting down at your computer and mucking in. Once that’s done comes the practice. I practiced both in front of relatives and the mirror. I experimented with my voice, tone, pitch, and pacing. I also experimented using different hand and body gestures.

The hook

The first sentence, the first paragraph is the most important of any speech. If the speaker can grab the audience’s attention in that first minute, they are more likely to continue holding it throughout the remainder of the speech. Imagine if a speaker’s opening line was, ‘Tonight I’d like to talk about respect and what it means to me.’ It’s boring. If however the speaker began singing Aretha Franklin’s ‘Respect.’ Straight away the audience are going to listen… and why wouldn’t they? It’s different, it’s quirky, no one is expecting a song.

Personal story

I love a personal story in a speech. People can relate, it makes the speaker sound more human. Years ago I remember watching a segment on the news. An ex president’s wife was giving a speech which I remember to this day. It was Laura Bush, and below is what she said.

‘Nine o’clock, and Mr Excitement here is in bed, and I am watching Desperate Housewives… Ladies and Gentleman, I am a desperate housewife.’

Whether Laura Bush actually watched Desperate Housewives or not, I have no idea. But I recall having a good laugh at what she said. Being a Desperate Housewife fan myself I could relate. That’s the power of sharing a tidbit, you have the ability to evoke emotions.

Name dropping is another option… sharing personal stories about people in the audience. At a work function I once delivered a speech mentioning interactions I’d had with four colleagues. The humorous antidotes almost brought down the house.

Speech Conclusion

I always end my speeches with a bang. I round up the main points, then say something quirky, mindful, or inspirational for my last sentence. Sometimes I even pose open-ended questions. Whatever you decide, make an impact.

Sponsored Images iStock Pixabay

If you have a question or would like some encouraging feedback please feel free to make contact. I am happy to reply to all queries.

--

--