I Got My Dream Job. He Lost It and Became a Rock Star Instead

Are we misjudging our potential?

Nihan Kucukural
Inspired Writer

--

Photo by Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona on Unsplash

When I graduated from university, I was told that I couldn’t get a creative job at an advertising agency. I needed a very special talent for that, and I obviously didn’t have it.

But then I saw a copywriter job ad in the newspaper which jump-started my creativity. It prompted me to write an amusing story for a CV. I realized my CV had potential, so I sent it to all major advertising agencies in Istanbul and got my “dream job” as a junior copywriter at an international network.

I was thrilled! It turned out I really was a good fit for the job and worked there for a few years writing copy for successful brands in Turkey.

One day, a colleague sent me an old CV for a laugh. It was written by a super famous young Turkish rock singer before his fame.

The CV was a piece of creative writing applying for a junior copywriter position, not too different from the one I had written. The singer apparently had some experience as an unpaid intern copywriter as a university student and he enjoyed writing ads. He wrote the CV and sent it to fifty agencies as I did. In it, he bragged about how he also wrote songs, played music at bars, and was “even on TV” once.

--

--

Nihan Kucukural
Inspired Writer

Turkish copywriter and screenwriter based in New Zealand. I am addicted to stories. I write screenwriting/copywriting advice and occasional funny stuff.