One Simple Trick to Make Your Story Tastier to Readers and Editors

Editors are more likely to buy timely pieces, and any piece can be made timely.

Kelly Eden | Essayist | Writing Coach
Inspired Writer

--

By ksu_ok on Adobe Stock Images

Sitting in the theatre, I wondered if I’d be spending the next 5-hours with two bored teenagers, complaining or sulking while I sat regretting my life choices.

Was it a bad move taking my kids to a 5-hour French opera on the Spanish Inquisition?

Thankfully, the director David McVicar had been clever.

He’d managed to take an old story and make it relevant to today. It hooked both of my kids right in.

He also modelled a nice trick we can use as writers to hook in our audiences and editors.

And of course, there’s always bribery

After the first of five acts, my 12-year-old shrugged her shoulders. “It’s okay. Can we get food in the break?”

‘Okay’ was better than I was expecting. There were two breaks and after I assured her we could definitely get snacks in both, she seemed happy to continue watching.

By act five, both teens were saying how quickly it went. And it was more than bribery with snacks that kept them watching…

Emotion is the key to…

--

--

Kelly Eden | Essayist | Writing Coach
Inspired Writer

New Zealand-based essayist | @ Business Insider, Mamamia, Oh Reader, Thought Catalog, ScaryMommy and more. Say hi at https://becauseyouwrite.substack.com/