Permission Slip for the End of 2020

Musings for ending 2020 and beginning a new year

Rachella Angel Page
Inspired Writer
3 min readNov 15, 2020

--

Photo by Adrien Converse on Unsplash

A year that has seemed to stretch on forever is six weeks away from ending

Between mid-November and early-December, it’s a common practice to reflect on the year that was and begin to lay groundwork for goals that will come in the next year. To be wistful for the good moments but to feel excited about the next set of good moments in the year to come.

This is not an easy year to reminisce about.

I feel ungrateful writing that sentence. I was one of the lucky few to not be affected much by Corona in a negative way. My entire life flipped this year but not because of heartbreak or job loss. Mine was more simple: moving away from my mom and dogs, getting married, changing jobs, and becoming more grateful. I’m a homebody and enjoy spending time at home when I’m not working. Quarantining was not that difficult for me. My job was considered essential. The opportunity to spend less made a dent in my debt. It also reminded me that it’s possible to get by on less.

However, I still feel an urge to just sit and mull over 2020 before getting out the journal to start creating a 2021 game plan.

Regardless of where we’re at in the transitional year process, it’s okay:

  • It’s okay to still need to work out our feelings from the events of this year.
  • It’s okay to be ready to put it aside and drafting up resolutions and plans like a maniac.
  • It’s okay to grieve from the events of this year.
  • It’s okay to still want to squeeze a few things out of 2020.
  • It’s okay to just want to take the time to be more mindful and present with families during the holidays.

We are the only ones who know when the time is right to move forward. Even when there is an inflow of messaging about the new year: from ads to email marketing to others writing about goal planning.

I’m giving myself permission to take things on my own terms. I’m in a mixed state right now: thinking ahead to projects to work on in the new year, digesting and trying to wrap my head around the changes from 2020. I’m trying to be gentle with myself for just not feeling the “hurry up and begin to plan” stage. That’s my usual nature, but everything feels off this year.

Wherever we are in the stage of wrapping up one year to move into the next year, it’s important to utilize self-care measures that work best for us. It’s vital to be gentle with ourselves. We’re all at different stages. If goal-planning right now isn’t what we feel most pressing, there’s still plenty of time left. Don’t rush if it’s not needed or desired. It’s okay to be still in this moment and give ourselves what we need most.

--

--

Rachella Angel Page
Inspired Writer

Lifestyle and creative non-fiction writer. Wife. Momma of two dogs: Maxwell and Lady. Obsessed with road trips, poetry and Kickstart. IG: @pagesofrachella