The Pitfalls of Rushing the Self-Publishing Process

When authors create a process to publish, their book’s chances of success are increased

Kayla Hicks
Inspired Writer
Published in
4 min readMar 15, 2024

--

a light bulb on the center of a chalk board with thought bubbles around it
stock image provided by Canva.com stock images

Having a fleshed-out story to share with the world is a feeling like no other. And for many authors, we are ready to share it right away.

However, amid the eagerness to share our literary creations with readers, some authors hastily navigate the self-publishing journey. Yet, in this haste lies the risk of overlooking crucial opportunities to effectively promote their work, inadvertently leaving behind errors unchecked, and ultimately facing disappointment when their endeavors do not yield the desired results.

And like so many other authors, this was me at the beginning of my writing career.

I’d spent four years writing a young adult dystopian book. And when I was finished, I was eager to get it in front of readers but wasn’t sure how to do so. So, my husband found a service called CreateSpace (which is now owned by Amazon) that could help me format my book, design a cover, provide developmental and grammatical edits, and upload it to the Amazon platform for me.

Sounds great, right? Well, not when it cost me $3,000…

--

--

Kayla Hicks
Inspired Writer

A published author on Amazon| Multi-Genre Author| Teaching about writing and publishing| https://linktr.ee/authorkaylahicks